Skip to main content

ArcGIS Online and Story Maps

Share a map

When you first create content in ArcGIS Online, the content is only visible to you. You can use the share button to share your layers and web maps with:

  • Specific groups on Brandeis ArcGIS Online
  • All Brandeis ArcGIS Online users
  • Everyone (the public)

You can also use the share button to link to your map, share your map on social media, or embed your map in a website.

Collaborate on maps

You can create a Brandeis ArcGIS Online Group and invite Brandeis ArcGIS Online users or ArcGIS Online users at other institutions if you want to privately share map content with them. This option will only provide read-only access to your content. It won't provide your collaborators with editing access to the content you share.

You will need to contact our GIS librarian if you would like your collaborators to have editing and update capabilities for content shared in an ArcGIS Online group. Groups with update/editing capabilities are restricted to ArcGIS Online users at Brandeis. This type of group space can't include outside collaborators. 

Please submit the following information with your request if you would like to have an ArcGIS Online group space with editing/update capabilities:

  • Group Name
  • Tag(s) for the group
  • Names of the collaborators that should be added to the group - We can only add people after they've logged into their Brandeis ArcGIS Online accounts. Once we've created the group space, we can provide you with permissions to add new members to the group.
  • Additional capabilities - You can also specify which group members can contribute content to the group and view the list of group members.