Research Guides: HSSP 110A 2 Integrative Seminar on Health: Data & Statistics

ICPSR

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. Find qualitative and quantitative datasets, accompanying codebooks, publication lists and more. Formats include SPSS, Stata and Excel. Access to this resource from off campus requires that users initially register for an account while on campus.

Working/studying remotely? Request access to ICPSR data and resources by contacting icpsr-help@umich.edu. When you do, please let them know that you are a current student, faculty, or staff member at Brandeis University, and be sure to use your @brandeis.edu email address.

ICPSR Thematic Collections
ICPSR has several data repositories organized by topic, many of which are health and health care related.

Government Data

CDC Data & Statistics
Search for CDC data and statistics by topic.
Data Lumos
From ICPSR , Data Lumos is an archive for valuable government data resources requested and/or submitted by the public. Open source, no login required.
HealthData.gov
Dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
FastStats from the CDC
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
National Center for Health Statistics NCHS
From the Centers for Disease Control, provides statistical information that guides actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey NHANES
Studies that assess the health and nutritional status of people in the United States. Combines interviews and physical examinations.

Research Institute Data

County Health Rankings
This easy-to-use site has statistics on vital health factors, including obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. Sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Dartmouth Atlas for Health Care
Focused on Medicare, find data by hospital, region and medical issues.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluations (IHME)
Project Tycho
Project Tycho® at the University of Pittsburgh seeks to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy making. Includes data from all weekly notifiable disease reports for the United States dating back to 1888. These data are freely available to anybody interested. Must register for an account.

iPoll Databank - Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion, full-text searchable. Organized at the question level, the tools and functions available to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Data sets include the US Census from 1790-2010, the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Survey, carbon emissions data from the Vulcan Project, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides current statistical data and comparisons for a wide-ranging and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information. Sources include market forecasts, dossiers, and industry reports.