Skip to main content

Global Health Policy and Management (GHPM)

Library & research resources for the Heller School MS Program in Global Health Policy & Management

Heller Librarian

Maric Kramer's picture
Maric Kramer
Contact:
781-736-4667

Non-Government Organizations (NGOs)

NGOs (non-governmental organizations) are doing some of the best research on international health topics. Here is a selection of NGO websites that provide publications useful to IHPM students. 

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) iLibrary:
The OECD iLibrary is a subscription-based resources that offers access to the OECD's books, papers, and statistics. Some of these articles are available on the general OECD site, but the subscription through Brandeis offers access to the entire database of resources. UNet login and password required.

Policy File:
Policy File offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. It is updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institute, and agencies.  UNet login and password required.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO):
CIAO publishes research on international affairs that include working papers from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs. Updated monthly.

African Development Bank Group:
Updates and bulletins on health-related topics throughout Africa.

World Bank eLibrary:
The World Bank eLibrary is a subscription-based resource that covers topics related to economic development and poverty reduction. Some of these articles are available on the general World Bank site, but the subscription through Brandeis offers access to the entire database of resources.

UNAIDS:
UNAIDS is a resouces for epidemiology publications, and a variety of epidemiology data tools regarding AIDS throughout the world.

Eldis Global Health:
Eldis Global health is a guide that provides access to research on global health in developing countries.

Demographics and Health Surveys Publications (DHS Program):
The DHS Program produces a wide variety of publications on country specific and comparative data on population, health, and nutrition in developing countries.

NGO Research Guide from Duke University:
The NGO Reseach Guide is a searchable database of NGOs and links to their websites.

World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO):
Search by region, keyword, or subject.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) at the Library of Congress creates analytical, nonpartisan reports on major policy issues for members and committees of the United States Congress. A 2018 law created provisions for CRS reports to be made available to the public as they are published, and efforts will be made to make the backfile available to the public on the CRS website.  For CRS reports published prior to September 2018, there are a variety of organizations and libraries that have made collections available to the public on their own websites.

Government Sources (U.S. and International)

Think Tanks

"Think tank" refers to a policy institute or a research institute which conducts research on topics such as economics, political climate, military, social policy and culture.  Well-known political think tanks include: