Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
“Brandeis

How to Customize the LATTE Shell

A guide to the Brandeis LATTE Shell

Overview

Some faculty members may want to use a completely blank LATTE shell to design their course from scratch. Following the directions on this page will remove the default template formatting. Download one of the two files below to use as the Blank Shell backup file and follow the course Restore process. 

Download a Blank Shell

Download one of the blank shell options below to your computer where you can easily find it for the restore process:  

Restore from a Blank Shell

  1. Open the LATTE course where you wish to restore your Blank Shell backup file.  
  2. In the Administration block under "Course Utilities", click Restore.
    Administration menu with restore in a red box
  3. You will be directed to select a backup file to Restore. Locate the Blank Shell file you downloaded from the box above. Either select Choose a file... to locate the Blank Shell file on your computer or drag and drop the file into the space provided. Click Restore.
    import a backup file
  1. After you clicked the Restore button following Step 1, a list of activities and resources in the Blank Shell file will appear. Scroll down and click Continue.
  2. Select the Delete the contents of this course and then restore option, then click Continue.
    IMPORTANT: If you merge the backup course instead, the existing shell formatting will not be erased. 
    Delete the contents of this course is the second radio button
  3. OPTIONAL  The Restore Settings page allows you to uncheck any types of items to remove them from the restore process. Depending on the Blank Shell file you chose, there may not be many items. Click Next to continue. 
  4. OPTIONAL  The Course Settings page allows you to uncheck any activities or resources to remove them from the restore process. Depending on the Blank Shell file you chose, there may not be any items. Click Next to start the restore process. 
  5. When the Restore process is complete, a green banner will appear, confirming that the process is complete. Click Continue to return to the updated course page.

Guidelines/Pro-tips

IMPORTANT: During the restore process, ensure you select Delete the contents of this course and then restore. This is the most important step if you want to remove the default template formatting. If you merge the backup course instead, the template formatting will not be erased but rather combined with the materials from the course backup.