*Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Collection of interviews with surviving members of AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP), New York. Includes videos, bios, and interview transcripts.

The Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) seeks to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Includes holdings from the ONE Archives, University of Victoria's Transgender Archives, Country Queer Oral History Project, etc.

Digital collections include archival material, oral histories, audio collections, obituaries, and more.

The History Project's mission is to document and preserve the history of New England's LGBTQ community, and to share that info with the public.

World's largest collection about lesbians and their communities. Site includes digitized photos, oral histories, audio recordings, newsletters, and video. Recent digitization efforts include Audre Lorde's speeches, panel presentations, and readings.

Magazines and other primary source materials from the LGBTQIA+ community. Materials that have been digitized so far date from the 1950s to 2000 and focus on the physique/muscle and drag/trans+ cultures.

Includes oral histories, profiles, and digitized collections of LGBT religious history.

The largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives houses millions of archival items including periodicals, books, films, videos, audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. ONE Archives has been a part of the University of Southern California Libraries since 2010.

QZAP was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

The New York City Trans Oral History Project is a community archive devoted to the collection, preservation and sharing of trans histories, organized in collaboration with the New York Public Library.

An early Jewish feminist, Aviva Cantor was the founding editor of Lilith magazine and a founding member of the Jewish Liberation Project.The collection consists primarily of articles and scholarly papers written in the years 1970 to 1990.

Subjects include bylaws; the history of the organization; national conferences; regional chapters, fundraising; committee membership; study group courses; and the papers of individual members.

The Carl Van Vechten photograph collection contains images of many notable women, including Josephine Baker, Billie Holiday, Emma Goldman, Mary McLeod Bethune, Zora Neale Hurston, Frida Kahlo, Gertrude Stein and many more.

The Dime Novel collection at Brandeis documents the publication of sensational popular literature in the United States from the mid-nineteenth to the early twentieth century. Brandeis holds more than a thousand titles. Finding Aid includes a link for a partial list.

The collection concerns the writings, rituals and correspondence of E.M. Broner, including manuscripts, publications, reviews, correspondence, descriptions of rituals, and more.

The Fannie Hurst Collection, 1889-1968, includes typescripts, articles, photographs, correspondence, and other materials related to Hurst's professional and private life.

One of the most significant components of this collection is the correspondence of Eleanor Roosevelt with Henry S. Hooker, a lifelong friend who was a New York political figure, and couple of close acquaintances, Louise Lazell and Robert S. Benjamin.

Professor Emerita at the Heller School of Social Policy and Management and in the Department of Sociology, her research has focused in large part on women’s changing roles, aging and life course, and family policy.

This collection consists of eleven linear feet of material documenting Ma'yan, a Jewish feminist organization based in New York City. The records include reports, strategic plans, meeting agendas, class and workshop material, program and exhibit files, photographs and more.

A collection of journals, speeches, lecture notes, correspondence, manuscripts, typescripts and research files created by Marcia Freedman, an American-Israeli activist and feminist.

Read a Spotlight about the Marcia Freedman papers consisting of approximately 2.75 linear feet of materials pertaining to Freedman’s life and work as an American-Israeli activist and feminist.

Files in this collection were created from 1974 through 2001. Materials include memos, correspondence, reports, meeting minutes, and newsletters. Most of the reports concern the compliance of individual departments and the University as a whole with affirmative action regulations. Other subjects include hiring procedures; the establishment of the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee; and other equal opportunity issues including disabilities, maternity leave, and sexual harassment. This collection also holds an incomplete run of the newsletter "'aaction' profile." Most of these files were created and maintained by Louis Ennis and Herb Hentz.

The Rose Jacobs collection is dominated by a manuscript and supporting documents regarding the history of Hadassah.

The Ruth A. Brandwein papers contains published and unpublished papers, reports, research notes, correspondence, and committee information broadly related to welfare policy, women and families, and domestic violence in the United States from the 1960s to 2010

The Sandra Butler papers consist of journals, correspondence, photographs, workshop posters and audiovisual materials relating to Sandra Butler's activities as an author and activist in the feminist movement, advocate for Israeli-Palestinian peace, and issues related to breast cancer.

This collection consists of a number of scrapbooks created by Sophie Tucker, which incorporate memorabilia, newspaper clippings, greeting cards, and other personal mementos.

Special Collections holds a number of scrapbooks created by Sophie Tucker, incorporating memorabilia, newspaper clippings, greeting cards, and other personal mementos. Please contact the department for access.

These materials focus almost entirely on the work and history of the program.

An innovative, interdisciplinary research facility of scholars, students and faculty who study gender issues and women's lives. Founded by Shulamit Reinharz, the WSRC is the home of: The Scholars Program, The Student-Scholar Partnership Program, The Arts Program, and The Hadassah-Brandeis Institute.