Research Guides: *Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: Find Articles & Databases

WGS Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Welcome!

Welcome to Brandeis Library's guide for Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies (WGS). I hope you encounter some great starting points for your research. As the library's liaison for WGS, I am happy to meet with current students, faculty, staff, and scholars at Brandeis University. To make an appointment with me or send me an email, please see the links in my profile box on this page.
- Maric Kramer

Highlighted Journals

Sexualities
An international, interdisciplinary journal publishing articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities.
GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies
GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism
Meridians is a feminist, interdisciplinary journal whose goal is to provide a forum for the finest scholarship and creative work by and about women of color in U.S. and international contexts.
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
A leading journal in women's & gender studies, Signs publishes articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality.
Transgender Studies Quarterly (TSQ)
TSQ aims to publish interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship.

WGS Databases: Best Bets

The following databases are a good place to start for WGS-related research. Go to A-Z Databases for a full list of databases for WGS and other disciplines.

LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Excellent collection of hundreds of scholarly humanities and social sciences journals. All articles are available in full text.
LGBTQ+ Rights (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Explores the gay rights movement in America, including civil rights and law passage in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Find legal and policy research on topics such as marriage and family, employment, military service, and health care.

What is "Peer Review?"

Peer Review in Three Minutes by NCSU Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US.

Find more short videos by NCSU Libraries at their website.