HIST 53A Labor, Land, and Money in Early America

Includes 19th century newspapers from a range of regions throughout the United States.

With content from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), this database includes American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Covers advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1998), Boston Globe (1872-1993), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2020), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2011), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and Washington Post (1877-2007)

A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes thousands of authors, providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Includes the correspondence and diaries of women, covering colonial times to 1950.

Diaries and correspondence of 19th and 20th century American women traveling in the United States and around the world.

Contains thousands of titles on the American workplace, from the labor rights movement in the 19th century to the struggles of today. Users will find content related to the establishment of a minimum wage and the 40-hour workweek, hazards faced by workers in the workplace and the safeguards in place to protect them, as well as efforts to make the workplace equitable for all.

Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2024, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.

This collection brings together significant legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Collection of digitized primary source materials covering American history from 1493 to 1945. Includes unique manuscripts, along with maps, engravings, posters, broadsides, and pamphlets covering colonial America through World War II.

Full text of 1790-1950 US census records, UK and Ireland census collection, immigration collection, military records, and birth, marriage and death records. An excellent resource for research in genealogy.

Includes four collections of 19th century primary sources: Asia & the West; British Politics & Society; British Theatre, Music, & Literature; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection. Sources include monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, and photographs.

Collection of manuscripts from the American Jewish Historical Society, including major organisational collections and collections of personal papers.

Features 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library, highlighting three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, high-profile cases, and insights into developing ideologies and laws, as far back as 1861 with the Papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, which span from the Civil War to the Great Depression. The Papers of Louis D. Brandeis and Felix Frankfurter provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961.

Provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Includes documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, covering the nineteeth and twentieth centuries.