Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool.
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to. Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses. Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library. Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.
Journals, magazines, trade publications and books covering film and television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and images from the Motion Picture & Television Photo Archive.
Scholarly articles, journals, books and dissertations covering topics in literature, modern languages, linguistics, folklore, and dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Comics have become an increasingly popular area of academic study; Underground and Independent Comics provides this resource, collecting thousands of comics—many extremely rare and hard to find—in one, easy-to-use online collection. Covers major works from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s and continuing through to modern sequential artists as well as the pre-Comics Code era of horror, crime, romance, and war comics that fueled the backlash leading to the advent of the Comics Code.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
