A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies covering scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (previously known as International Index to Black Periodicals), and Black Literature Index.
Now includes the Atlanta Daily World and Los Angeles Sentinel.Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
Ebony is one of the key African American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains the complete archive of the magazine (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.
Local, national, and regional news from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese, such as El Universal (México); O Globo (Brasil); La Nación (Argentina); y El Mercurio (Chile).
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).
Provides digitized primary source documents from African diasporic communities around the world, with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. Also includes secondary sources and videos.
Full text of 1790-1950 US census records, UK and Ireland census collection, immigration collection, military records, and birth, marriage and death records. An excellent resource for research in genealogy.
Examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture, including the music, dance, and visual arts that are its artistic expressions. Entries also examine hip hop’s influence in other arenas such as fashion, film, and poetry; its impact on education, politics, social activism, racial and ethnic identity, and globalization; and its many contributions to American, urban, black, and Latino cultures.
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present. Please note that this database does not include full text; after finding an item in HLAS, we recommend searching for it in OneSearch.
Scholarly articles, journals, books and dissertations covering topics in literature, modern languages, linguistics, folklore, and dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Provides 100+ full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Includes materials which are indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Coverage: 1966 - current
