AAPI/ANTH 155a: Political Violence in the Philippines and Filipinx America

Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, and anthologies pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers sources published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.

Find journal articles about the Philippines and Filipinx Americans in English and Spanish. Use the "Get It!" link to get full text from Brandeis Library.

Indexes journal articles and other scholarship in the field of history (excluding the history of the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward.

A comprehensive database of articles on the history and culture of the parts of North America that make up the present-day US and Canada.

Cross-search a collection of four databases covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), PAIS Index, PolicyFile, and ProQuest's Politics Database.

Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.

Newspaper collection covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Provides coverage and perspectives on regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries, including the monumental changes that took place throughout the region during the pre- and post-WWII era, and the challenges of early statehood.

Explores prominent themes related to conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. This archival database includes documents related to the Habsburg, Ottoman, British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States empires, and to settler societies in the United States and South Africa. 
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

Focuses on women’s activism across the world, from 1840 to the present. Includes primary sources on topics related to peace, human trafficking, poverty, child labor, literacy, global inequality, and more. 
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

Includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions post WWII.

"CIA Research Reports from 1946-1976" provides reports from both the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and its predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, and relate to locations around the world including the Philippines. Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

Historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law.

Manuscript and archival collections digitized in partnership and from a wide variety of archival institutions.