Research Guides: ANTH 125a: Abnormality in Medicine: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Starting Points: Reviews, Bibliographies, and Encyclopedias

Review articles, annotated bibliographies, and encyclopedias can give you a sense of the work that has come before you. Try looking up a topic like "beauty," "biopower," or "body" to get a sense of the theory and research that you will build on in your own work.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Hilary Callan
Publication Date: 2018, updated continuously
Contains overview articles of major concepts, research, and techniques in anthropology. Sample topics include "digital anthropology," "archaeology and paleoanthropology," and "health, illness, and health care."

Article Databases

Any of these databases would be a good place to look for scholarly articles in the field of anthropology about a topic related to abnormality in medicine. For more choices, check out our Databases A to Z list, which can be sorted by subject.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Current and back issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two key databases for anthropology: the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature. Broad coverage from early 19th century to present.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Access link next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.

Use the "Cited by" link that appears under a search result in Google Scholar to find articles and books that have cited the source in the result. This is a great way to get a sense of the conversation happening among scholars on your topic!

Connect Google Scholar to Brandeis Library

Set up "Library Links" in Google Scholar to connect to full text of articles through Brandeis Library.

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."