Research Guides: ANTH 126a: United States Policing in Context: Home

Your Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Find Scholarly Literature

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Current and back issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies covering scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (previously known as International Index to Black Periodicals), and Black Literature Index.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index | UCLA This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US, published from 1967-present. Search in Spanish, English or Portuguese. Use the “Brandeis Access” button to get full text from Brandeis Library. Now includes open access articles from SciELO-México!
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.

Find News Articles

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across contemporary and historical news sources. This cross-search contains multiple databases, which can be searched individually or in combination.
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Free access to The New York Times website. The Library's academic site license include access through mobile apps. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your academic account.
Boston Globe (1980-Present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Boston Globe, 1980 to present.

Explore Primary Sources

While letters and diaries are often the first examples of primary sources that come to mind, primary sources can encompass a broad range of sources. Primary sources are documents and objects that were created by people who experienced an event or time period under study, including government documents, images, and oral histories.

Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new window
Brings together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, and artistic works for researching global trends in mass incarceration and the prison infrastructure of specific countries.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new window
Contains 87,391 digital page images reproducing FBI documentation of the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
Contains reproductions of hundreds of FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected. Covers 1920-1984.

Archive Grid
Archive Grid searches thousands of repositories worldwide that hold unique collections relevant to your research and information about their holdings.