Research Guides: ANTH 131b: The Racial State and the Census in Afro-Latin America: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

More Library Guides

*Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies (LACLS)
by Maric Kramer Last Updated Sep 20, 2023 16 views this year

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Use Annotated Bibliographies to Find Sources

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.

Find Scholarly Articles and Books

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index | UCLA This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US, published from 1967-present. Search in Spanish, English or Portuguese. Use the "Get It!" button to get full text from Brandeis Library. Now includes open access articles from SciELO-México!
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present. Please note that this database does not include full text; after finding an item in HLAS, we recommend searching for it in OneSearch.

Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP)
A project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP), in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-search a collection of four databases covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), PAIS Index, PolicyFile, and ProQuest's Politics Database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.

Google Scholar
Search engine of scholarly literature, including articles and books.

Locate Demographic Statistics

National Statistical Offices | United Nations
Directory of national statistical offices of countries around the world.
Pueblos indígenas y afrodescendientes: Estadísticas y indicadores | CEPAL
A useful guide to statistical sources on Indigenous people and people of African descent in Latin America. From CEPAL, Comisión Económica para América Latina y el Caribe, which is part of the United Nations.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, papers, and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Published factbooks bring together essential statistics by theme; other statistical data can be manipulated as tables or charts within iLibrary and downloaded.

News & Media Sources

Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and regional news from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese, such as El Universal (México); O Globo (Brasil); La Nación (Argentina); y El Mercurio (Chile).

BBC Media Profiles by Country
Includes information about and links to sources for newspapers, television, radio coverage. Select a country to view a profile and then scroll down for the country's full media profile.

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).

Cite Your Sources in Chicago Style

In this class, you'll be using the Author-Date variation of Chicago style. The Chicago Manual of Style contains a set of standards and guidelines for writing and citation in academic work.

Quick Guide to Author-Date Style (Chicago)
This quick guide to the Author-Date variation of Chicago style provides examples of some of the most commonly-cited types of sources.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the 16th & 17th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style. Fully searchable.

Connect Google Scholar to Brandeis Library

Set up "Library Links" in Google Scholar to connect to full text of articles through Brandeis Library.

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."