Brandeis Library News - Research Guides at Brandeis University

Please contact Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist, to learn more about these and other collections. The Archives and Special Collections Reading Room is located on Level 2 of the library and is open Monday-Wednesday from 10am- 4pm, with the exception of staff holidays.

Recent Posts

Additions to the Lemberg Center for the Study of Violence archives

Archivist Caroline Littlewood recently processed additions to the Lemberg Center for the Study of Violence records in Brandeis Archives and Special Collections. The Lemberg Center studied race-related civil disorder and social unrest in the late 1960s. Their records include original research material and collected resources documenting racial attitudes, inequalities, and violence in American cities. The updated Lemberg Center finding aid is available online, as is an essay about the collection.Please contact Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist, to learn more about these and other collections. The Archives and Special Collections Reading Room is located on Level 2 of the library and is open Monday-Wednesday from 10am- 4pm, with the exception of staff holidays....

Open MakerLab Hours, Fall 2024

The MakerLab team will hold Open MakerLab Hours on Mondays 2:30-4:30pm, Wednesdays 1-3pm, and Thursdays 2:30-4:30pm during the Fall 2024 semester. During these hours there will be someone in the MakerLab to help you with your project ideas! Stop by the MakerLab on the Farber Mezzanine Level, and look for someone in a green apron to assist. Feel free to come by at other times; there is often, but not always, someone in the Lab. Check out the MakerLab calendar, and view a list of our upcoming workshops. Questions? Email us at MakerLab@brandeis.edu....

Join Us to Celebrate the Brandeis MakerLab's 10th Birthday!

We’re excited to mark a decade of innovation, creativity, and community at the Brandeis MakerLab! Come celebrate with us on Thursday, September 26th, from 4:00 to 6:00 PM on the Farber Library Mezzanine, just outside the MakerLab.Enjoy a fun afternoon filled with hands-on activities, inspiring projects, and a chance to connect with fellow makers and creators. There will be refreshments, special demonstrations, and a look back at our journey over the past ten years.Don't miss out on this milestone event—let’s make it a celebration to remember!Date: Thursday, September 26thTime: 4:00 PM - 6:00 PMLocation: Farber Library Mezzanine, Brandeis UniversitySee you there!...

BDI Empowering Young Innovators through 3D Technology

This summer, Brandeis Design and Innovation (BDI) was delighted to host a series of engaging 3D scanning and 3d printing workshops in partnership with the Genesis Program, Upward Bound, and Camp Harbor View. These programs brought together a diverse group of students, including Jewish pre-college participants from Genesis, and first-generation and students of color from Upward Bound and Camp Harbor View.Over the course of the workshops, students were introduced to the world of 3D scanning and printing. They had the opportunity to scan 3D models of themselves and then remix these models using TinkerCAD. Their final designs were brought to life through 3D printing, giving students a tangible reminder of their innovative work.This hands-on experience not only taught them about the technical aspects of 3D scanning and printing but also encouraged them to think creatively and critically about design and how technology can inform design choices. We are proud to have provided a platform where these talented innovators could explore cutting-edge technology and realize the possibilities it offers. Be sure to check out the impressive 3D prints created by our talented participants!...