Research Guides: FA 199A: Methods and Approaches in the History of Art: II: Classical &amp; mythological

Creative Arts Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

lzeidenb@brandeis.edu

781-736-4697

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography, Classical and Early Mediterranean Studies, Film Studies, Music, Theater and Dance

Classical & mythological subjects in art: print resources

Gods and Heroes in Art by Lucia Impelluso
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference N7760 .I4713 2003
View online at Internet Archive
Describes the legendary characters of classical antiquity "in entries summarizing their distinctive stories, their special attributes, and the ways in which artists have depicted them." An outstanding and essential resource. Description from the Getty.
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by Jane Davidson Reid
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993
View Volume 2 online at Internet Archive
A guide to the myths, classical texts, and depictions of the myths in art, music, dance, and literature, organized by mythological figures or themes. Includes artworks from early Renaissance to present depicting subjects in Greek and Roman mythology.
A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature by Percy Preston
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N7760 .P68 1983
View online at Internet Archive
A useful index for the study of mythological symbols, with citations from the classical sources.
Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts and Engravings Executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900, with a Directory of the Institutions Holding Them by Mercedes Rochelle
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference N7760 .R63 1991
View online at Internet Archive
A key print resource (see LATTE Methods course for sample pages). Offers a subject index and and artwork locator for historical illustrations from Greek and Roman mythology and the classical world.
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC) [Iconographic Dictionary of Classical Mythology]
Call Number: Main Library - Stacks: Scholar's Archive N7760 .L49 1981
View online at Internet Archive
A key print resource (see LATTE Methods course for sample pages). Exhaustive iconography of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman mythology. Names of mythological figures are in German. An international project in eight volumes published 1981-99--articles appear in either German, French, or English depending on their author's nationality. 8 vols. + index.

Classical and mythological sources for iconography

Bulfinch's Mythology
For over a century and a half, Bulfinch's Mythology has been the text by which the great tales of the gods and goddesses, Greek and Roman antiquity; Scandinavian, Celtic, and Oriental fables and myths, and the age of chivalry have been known.
Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources
Includes images, texts, and a list of attributes. Maintained by the Department of Greek and Roman Studies, University of Victoria.
Theoi Project
"The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion."

Classical and mythological subjects: online resource

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization (Oxford Reference)
An authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects..