FA 199A: Methods and Approaches in the History of Art

"Presents the characteristic features of more than one hundred saints often encountered in sacred Western art." An outstanding and essential resource. Description from the Getty.

View online at Internet Archive
Locates art by saint, providing for each saint a brief account of the subject's religious order, patronage (if known), method of martyrdom (if applicable), date of death, and feast day. References to works depicting the saint are arranged chronologically and include the title, medium, artist's name, and date of creation. Notes institutions holding the artwork, and books in which they are reproduced.

"Catalogs the vast heritage of Greek and Russian images according to iconographic type and subject, from the most ancient at the Monastery of Saint Catherine in the Sinai to those from Greece, Constantinople, and Russia."

"Examines depictions of stories and figures from both the New Testament's canonical gospels (the books of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) and the apocryphal gospels (early Christian writings excluded from the New Testament because of their unsubstantiated authorship)." An outstanding and essential resource. Description from the Getty.

"Analyzes artists' representations of angels and demons and heaven and hell from the Judeo-Christian tradition." An outstanding and essential resource. Description from the Getty.

View online at Internet Archive
A key print resource (see LATTE Methods course for sample pages). Remains the authoritative source in the study of symbols in Christian art. In addition to discussing objects treated symbolically in Christian art, this book explores Old Testament characters and events and their symbolic representation in art.

View online at Internet Archive
A key print resource (see LATTE Methods course for sample pages). Offers useful descriptions of Old and New Testament themes and subjects and Christian saints and iconography.

View online at Internet Archive
An exhaustive, authoritative catalog of the gods, angels, demons, spirits, semi-divine heroes, and humans who later achieved divine status (e.g., Esau, Jacob, Leah, Rachel, Moses, and Mary) whose names occur in the Old and New Testament, including the Apocrypha.

View Vol. 1 online at Internet Archive
View Vol. 2 online at Internet Archive
Vol. 1: Christ's incarnation, childhood, baptism, temptation, transfiguration, works, and miracles; vol. 2: The Passion of Christ. Translation of vols. 1-2 of the Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst, 2d ed.

Excellent subject index to Italian School paintings of narrative subjects in the New Testament and in the apocryphal literature related to them. Begins with an index of concepts, terms, and proper names and then catalogs the paintings in the collection divided into seven sections: A. John the Baptist and Early Life of Mary; B. Birth and Youth of Christ; C. Public Life of Christ from His Baptism until the Passion; D. Passion of Christ, Entombment, and Descent into Limbo; E. Resurrection, Appearance, and Ascension of Christ, Pentecost, Later Life and Assumption of the Virgin; F. Lives and Acts of the Apostles of Christ; G. Revelation of John, The Apocalypse.

A foundational resource for Christian iconography in 8 volumes. Text in German.

"Compiles entries on key figures and events in the Old Testament, beginning with the Pentateuch, then drawing from the historical books, the books of wisdom and poetry, and, finally, the prophetic books." An outstanding and essential resource.

First comprehensive survey of the vast profusion of David images in both Byzantium and the West collected in Princeton's Index of Christian Art. Includes over 5,000 entries for objects ranging in date from the 3d to the 15th century, representing 14 different media.