Research Guides: FA 199A: Methods and Approaches in the History of Art: Finding background information

Essential art history reference source

Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Online access to definitive reference works encompassing all aspects of visual culture; includes biographical and subject entries with bibliographies for further research and searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations.

Electronic, full-text version of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art, with continuous updating of content and thousands of image links to art works.
Provides detailed and often extremely important articles not only for artists, but also under terms and styles (Expressionism, Utrecht Caravaggisti, for example) and countries and regions (such as Brazil, China, Africa).
Always begin a research project with a thorough search of this essential resource.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of artists’ biographies in the English language, long a standard reference work in France. Particularly known for its coverage of nineteenth-century and East Asian artists, historic auction prices, and images of artists’ signatures and monograms.
Oxford Reference: Art & Architecture This link opens in a new window
Search facts and definitions found in dictionary and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
"Thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection." Extends from prehistory to the present.