Research Guides: POL 163A The United Nations and the United States: Gov Info &amp; Grey Lit

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

University of North Texas CRSR Collection
UNT digital collection of CRS Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.
Federation of American Scientists
FAS was founded in 1945 by many of the Manhattan Project scientists who wanted to prevent nuclear war. Updated monthly.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Analytical, nonpartisan reports on major policy issues, prepared for members and committees of the United States Congress. This search interface will have CRS reports published from September 2018 onward, with an ongoing effort to fill in the back file.
more...less...
More information on the public release of CRS Reports.

Additiona UN Sources

Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research Guide
Sources organized by subject by the librarians at the Dag Hammarskjöld Library at the UN.
UNTerm
Provides terminology and nomenclature in subjects relevant to the work of the United Nations. Information is provided in the six UN official languages, and there are also entries in German and Portuguese.

US Government Sources

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2024, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of the immense collections of many universities and institutions, full text searchable.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions post WWII.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) is a compendium of US diplomatic papers. Search by presidential administration.
Government Accountability Office (GAO(
The GAO prepares reports on government operations and specific policies.
USA.gov
USA.gov is the search engine for all types of digital government information, including state websites. Very general searching.

United Nations

United Nations Directory
List of UN entities and organizations. You can resort to list by name or topic.
Official Document System
UN ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
General Assembly Resolutions (1946 - )
Resolutions and Decisions adopted by the General Assembly from the 1st session in 1946 to present.
United Nations Law Collection (Hein Online)
Major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more. UNet Login and Passcode required.
Office of Archives and Records Management
Preserves and provides access to the Organization’s historical archives
United Nations Office of Legal Affairs
provides a unified central legal service for the Secretariat and the principal and other organs of the United Nations and contributes to the progressive development and codification of international public and trade law.
Photo Gallery
Thousands of photos of UN personnel as well as photographs from UN work in action.
Security Council Documentation
Plenary documents of the Security Council, 1946-present, are available online.
Voting Data
Voting records for members of the Security Council.
UNSCR
Free but unofficial service intended to be used by anyone who needs to search resolutions in the United Nations Security Council.