Research Guides: POL 163A The United Nations and the United States: Scholarly Sources

Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

General Search

Need help narrowing down your topic? Try searching a general database with keywords to help you focus your research. Once you've collected a few key terms, try searchihng a more politics-specific database. UNet login required.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.

Journal Articles and Book Chapters

Scholarly Articles can be found in different subscription databases made avialable through the library. UNet login may be required to access databases.

EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public policy papers and grey literature from over 120 countries, 1915-present.
Policy File Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. Updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 140 leading political science and international relations journals, sometimes with full text and images. Includes comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics, 1985-present.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-search a collection of four databases covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), PAIS Index, PolicyFile, and ProQuest's Politics Database.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in political science and its complementary fields, such as international relations, law, and public administration policy. 1975 to present.
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Collection of image-based U.S. treaties and other international agreements.