Research Guides: HSSP Capstone 2024: Scholarly Articles & Databases

HSSP Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

Where to Start Searching

Brandeis OneSearch
Library Catalog

Library Catalog: Use this option to search for physical items (books, print journals, DVDs, etc.), ebooks, and streaming media owned by the library.
Articles & More: Use this option to search across many databases of articles in journals, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, and dictionaries. This does not search all databases, however.
All OneSearch: Use this option to search both the Library Catalog and Articles & More.
Course Reserves: Use this option to search for books that have been set aside for your courses.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!

Google Scholar
Google Scholar uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature, including articles, book chapters, and books.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
WorldCat.org (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog for libraries around the world. Use it to search material from other libraries and then request materials through Brandeis Library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Non-Profit Sources

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Identify grantmakers and potential funding sources with this database from the Foundation Center. Updated weekly, it also provides keyword searching of IRS 990 filings.

GuideStar
Get financial data on nonprofits and foundations. Create an account and login for free access to information about 1.7 million nonprofits including mission statements, board info, and IRS tax documents.
ProPublica NonProfit Explorer
View summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses
Charity Navigator
Provides charitable givers and social investors across the country with every type of charitable interest the tools necessary to make informed giving decisions.

Industry Resources

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Offers company overviews of well-known organizations including their histories, operations, and competitors. (formerly Hoovers)
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Collection of research reports containing key statistics, industry conditions, market characteristics, industry performance, external market drivers, key success factors, and 5-year revenue forecasts for each US industry. IBIS Covers over 700 US industries; 192 China Industries and 75 of the largest industries world-wide. Also contains business environment reports. Updated throughout the year.
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry norms (ratios and default probability/cash flow measures) for 600+ industries by year, asset range and region.

Journal Literature

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent coverage of international business and economics topics from journals, magazines, reports, and data sources.
AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, scientific, technical, and policy information across the agricultural and environmental sciences. Includes topics such as animal sciences, climate change, conservation, environmental law and policy, natural resources, public health, renewable energy, and sustainable development. Includes the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and indexing in thousands of journals in business, international business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and more. Please note that Brandeis access to this resource will end on December 31, 2024. More information.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.
Policy File Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. Updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic publications. Search across all content, limit to a single title, or choose by subject subsets.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search journals of social work, social welfare, social policy and community development, 1979 to present.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.