Research Guides: HSSP Capstone 2024: News Sources &amp; Magazines

Archived News Sources

Databases that provide access to major newspapers' archives from the 20th century. You will find archived newspapers from the 19th century and earlier our Databases A-Z.

Boston Globe Historical Archive
Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1988)
Chicago Tribune
Coverage: 1849 - 1996
Los Angeles Times
Coverage: 1881 - 1995
The New York Times
Coverage: 1851 - 2014
Wall Street Journal
Coverage: 1889 - 2002
Washington Post
Coverage: 1877 - 2002

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Includes the following English-language Chinese historical newspapers: North China Herald (1850-1941); Canton Times (1919-1920); China Critic (1939-1946); The China Press (1925-1938); China Weekly Review (1917-1953); Chinese Recorder (1868-1940); Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Peking Daily News (1914-1917); Peking Gazette (1915-1917); Peking Leader (1918-1919); Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921); Shanghai Times (1914-1921)

Magazines & Periodicals

The Chronicle of Philanthropy
Covers charity leaders, foundation executives, challenges, accomplishments and various organizations in the non-profit world.
The Economist
International news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them. 1988 - Present available online. 1992 - Present through ProQuest ABI/Inform linked here. Back issues available in print or on microfiche.
Harvard Business Review
Strategy, innovation and leadership ideas from from the world's best business and management experts. 1
Nonprofit Management and Leadership
Quarterly peer-reviewed journal that publishes quality scholarship on all aspects of management and leadership in the nonprofit space.
The Nonprofit Times
Breaking news, in-depth reporting, and special issue coverage to help nonprofit executives run their organizations more effectively. 2000 - present available online through Gale.

Current Newspapers

We use library databases to access newspapers instead of going directly to the newspaper's website. These databases allow you to search multiple news sources simultaneously, provide better search results, stable links, and access to archived content. The exception is for the New York Times, .

Reading Today's Paper

Boston Globe
This link defaults to the latest available issue (today's). You can then scroll down the list for stories, or search within the issue for a specific topic.
New York Times
Brandeis students, staff, and faculty have free access to the New York Times via web and mobile app. Click this link and follow the instructions to sign up.
Washington Post
This link defaults to the latest available issue (today's). You can then scroll down the list for stories, or search within the issue for a specific topic.
Wall Street Journal
Brandeis students, staff, and faculty have free access to the Wall Street Journal via web and mobile app. Click this link and follow the instructions to sign up.

Search Multiple Titles

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.

International News

Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage for over 400 Canadian news sources, 1970s to present.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.