Research Guides: Jewish Feminisms: News, Magazines & Journals

Archived News Sources

Databases that provide access to major newspapers' archives from the 20th century. You will find archived newspapers from the 19th century and earlier our Databases A-Z.

Boston Globe Historical Archive
Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1988)
Chicago Tribune
Coverage: 1849 - 1996
Los Angeles Times
Coverage: 1881 - 1995
The New York Times
Coverage: 1851 - 2014
Wall Street Journal
Coverage: 1889 - 2002
Washington Post
Coverage: 1877 - 2002

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Includes the following English-language Chinese historical newspapers: North China Herald (1850-1941); Canton Times (1919-1920); China Critic (1939-1946); The China Press (1925-1938); China Weekly Review (1917-1953); Chinese Recorder (1868-1940); Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Peking Daily News (1914-1917); Peking Gazette (1915-1917); Peking Leader (1918-1919); Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921); Shanghai Times (1914-1921)

Jewish Feminist and Women's Magazines

alma.
Alma [ahl-ma] is a Hebrew word meaning a woman of childbearing age who has not had kids. Which is really weird and oddly specific, we know. When Alma launched in 2017, we called ourselves a publication for “ladies with chutzpah,” one that would cover everything from Jewish pop culture to what’s happening in the news to personal pieces about identity, feminism, and more. We still do all that, though these days we think of ourselves as a publication for anyone — regardless of gender — who cares about Jewish identity and culture and how they fit into everyday life. Still with lots of chutzpah.
Lilith Magazine
Independent, Jewish & frankly feminist since 1976, Lilith’s mission is to be the feminist change-agent in and for the Jewish community: amplifying Jewish feminist voices, creating an inclusive and positive Judaism, spurring gender consciousness in the Jewish world and empowering women, girls and trans and nonbinary people of every background to envision and enact change in their own lives and the larger community.
more...less...
More info at https://lilith.org/
Hadassah Magazine

Jewish Periodicals

Jewish Review of Books
Brandeis Unet login required
Moment Magazine
The current publication is open access.
Moment Magazine - Archives
Tablet Magazine
The Times of Israel

Historical Jewish Press

Historical Jewish Press
Amazing database and repository of Jewish newspapers and more from around the globe. Features a robust menu of search options.

Current News Sources

Reading Today's Paper:

We use library databases to access newspapers instead of going directly to the newspaper's website. These databases allow you to search multiple news sources simultaneously, provide better search engines, stable links, and access to newspaper archives.

New York Times
Brandeis faculty, students, and staff have free access to the New York Times website. The Library's academic site license includes access through mobile apps.
Washington Post
To access today's issue, click on the link to the "Latest Available Issue", which should be the current day.
Boston Globe
To access today's issue, click on the link to the "Latest Available Issue", which should be the current day.

International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

Proquest News & Newspapers
Includes full-text issues Boston Globe (1980-current), Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
Boston Globe, Current
Provides full-text coverage of the Boston Globe from January 1, 1980 through the present.
Nexis Uni Broadcast Transcripts
TV network and radio news; updated daily, and generally current to within 1-3 days of publication. (Click on "Advanced Search" from the home page. Then click on "News" in the "Select a Specific Content Type" drop down. Type "transcript" in the "Publication Type" box.)