JOUR 113a Longform Journalism: Storytelling for Magazines and Podcasts

Ebony is one of the key African American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains the complete archive of the magazine (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.

The backfile of Gentlemen's Quarterly, one of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines. Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources for research on the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period. Also useful for research in social history, psychology, and childhood studies. Coverage: 1910 - 2015
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

Provides access to primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. Includes US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, video gaming, and theater, along with film fan magazines and music press titles. Coverage varies, with a focus on 20th Century material.

Archival runs of some of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Note: Some publications may contain explicit content.
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

Alongside leading US publications such as Newsweek and In These Times are magazines that are published outside of North America and/or are engaged with international affairs, such as Europe, New Internationalist, and NATO Review. Coverage: 1918 - 2015.

A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.