Research Guides: FA/NEJS 43A Middle Eastern Cities: Navigating the Transition from Empires to Nation-States and the Globalized World: Images

Lisa Zeidenberg

she/her/hers

Contact:

lzeidenb@brandeis.edu

781-736-4697

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography, Classical and Early Mediterranean Studies, Film Studies, Music, Theater and Dance

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists; the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

World Architecture Index by Edward H. Teague (Compiled by)
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA202 .T4 1991
A guide for finding images of architectural works reproduced in more than 100 English-language books and encyclopedias. International scope covers most historical periods and styles. Provides citations to reproductions of exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations. The four indexes include site, architect, type of work, and names of works.

Grove Art Online (Part of Oxford Art Online)

Provides the most organized and direct path to a huge number of image links. Here's how to find the images after clicking on Grove Art:

Type artist's name or topic into search box -- click go.
Select relevant article from the results list.
Click on External resources link in the left margin of the article page (not every article includes this link).
Links to external images are found directly below the article

Note: when clicked, external images connect directly with the museum or image site in a new window; you're likely to encounter some broken links.

Art Resource
Commercial site, but database is freely available for searching
Google Arts and Culture
"Features content from over 1000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online."
Google Advanced Image Search
If you want to go fishing on the Web for an image rather than using the Web sites noted above, this is about the best way to do it.