Skip to main content

*American Studies

General Search

Need help narrowing down your topic?  Try searching a general database with keywords to help you focus your research.  Once you've collected a few key terms, try searching a more subject-specific database.  UNet login required.

Search Tips

Start by brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.  Adding a synonym or two can also help unlock results.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list.  It's a treasure map to other sources that may be relevant to your topic.

If you see an article you'd like to read but you don't see a PDF for the article, click on the  "GET IT" button. This will open a new window that will allow you to see if Brandeis has access to the article through another database or if Brandeis has the article in print. If Brandeis doesn't have the article online or in print, you'll see an option to request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Need to place an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for an article? 

Recommended Databases

For a broad search, start with the Articles & More tab of the Library's OneSearch. This searches across many of our subscription academic databases to find individual articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and more.

For a more focused searched, try one of the databases listed below. This list includes multidisciplinary databases as well as databases recommended for research in different academic disciplines.