This innovative monthly television series was hosted by Eleanor Roosevelt from 1959-1962. The colloquium-style series provided a forum for prominent leaders to discuss important current affairs, both domestic and international. The series documents some of the most influential figures of the mid-twentieth century.
This collection largely contains primary source research materials on anti-war, pro-Nazi groups used by Albert Kahn for his 1942 book "Sabotage! The Secret War Against America." The collection also includes a manuscript, publicity materials, and a limited amount of Kahn's other writings.
The Arthur Laurents collection consists primarily of typescripts of several plays and screenplays; it also includes some correspondence and clippings relating to Laurents's productions. Of particular note is a collection of letters documenting the development of West Side Story and of I Can Get it for You Wholesale.
See a Spotlight on the Arthur Laurents collection, which consists of correspondence and the annotated typescripts of many of Laurents's works, including West Side Story.
This collection includes correspondence, research, publications, and other materials broadly related to Aviva Cantor's work as a feminist activist focusing on women's roles within Judaism.
See this spotlight for information on the Buffalo Bill Stories from Brandeis' larger Dime Novel collection. These publications depict the adventures of the legendary Western guide Buffalo Bill (Col. William Cody).
This collection comprises approximately six hundred and forty vividly illustrated propaganda posters, created between 1913 and 1919, in large part to encourage the purchase of war bonds by American citizens.
The Daniel Webster collection contains 5 linear feet of manuscript material and is dominated by correspondence received during his appointment as Secretary of State under Presidents Harrison and Tyler from 1841 to 1843.
The collection consists of letters to and from Franklin D. and Eleanor Roosevelt, as well as officially published legal acts, assorted periodic publications, news clippings, booklets and pamphlets, and FDR memorabilia.
This collection includes primary source documentation on student protest movements and national interests of political and social concern at Brandeis from the 1960s to 1980s. Professor Fellman is currently Professor of Sociology and Chair of the Peace and Conflict Studies Program. This collection is online through the database The Sixties at http://tinyurl.com/9m4swd9.
This collection includes more than 5,000 exemplars of right- and left-wing pamphlet literature from the late 1940s through the 1980s pertaining to social, religious, and political issues.
See a Spotlight on Heller's novel, with consideration of its impact on American literature and its practitioners, written by Professor Stephen J. Whitfield of the Department of American Studies.
Materials in the collection date from 1948 to 2008 and document Lawrence H. Fuchs's life as a scholar and political figure. Fuchs began his Brandeis career in the Department of Politics and eventually founded the American Studies Department in 1970.
This collection documents the activities and findings of the Center which was created to provide multi-disciplinary analysis of violence in the United States with a focus on race-related civil disorder and riots.
This collection chiefly consists of correspondence from Leo Frank and his wife, Lucille Frank, as well as correspondence to and from Governor Slaton and others. Also included are miscellaneous articles, pamphlets and legal documents.
The Brandeis collection provides a rich resource for those interested in the personal and public life of Louis D. Brandeis, as well as American legal history in general, the Progressive and Zionist movements, and the U.S. Supreme Court.
Michael Lally, an immigrant to Massachusetts from Ireland, fought for the Union in more than a dozen major battles of the Civil War. The collection at Brandeis includes 57 of Lally's letters from the front, written from 1861 to 1865.
Morton Keller is Brandeis Professor Emeritus in History and a scholar of American legal history. Keller taught courses on United States history, political history, legal history, and the state in the Western world. Keller's scholarly work focused on legal history, especially of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.
The Radical Pamphlet Collection contains over 4,000 left- and right-wing documents that help illuminate the history of transatlantic radicalism, especially Anglo-American labor radicalism, particularly between 1930 and 1950.
This collection includes documents related to the Citizens National Committee for Sacco and Vanzetti and the Sacco and Vanzetti National League. Also included are drafts of Russell's writings, correspondence, documents, photographs, and videotapes.
Special Collections has several collections dealing with the Sacco-Vanzetti case. This collection contains writings by and about Gardner Jackson and his involvement in the establishment of the case as a supreme example of American injustice.
This collection of miscellaneous letters, articles, pamphlets, reports, newsclippings, and photographs is part of the Brandeis University Special Collections' extensive set of material related to the trial and legacy of Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti.
This collection correspondence by and to people who belonged to either the Sacco-Vanzetti National League (New York) or the Sacco-Vanzetti Defense Committee (Boston), including Gardner Jackson and Felix Frankfurter, as well as other letters and photos.
Tom O'Connor was a journalist who also served as the secretary for the Vindication Committee of Sacco and Vanzetti. This collection contains newsclippings and correspondence O'Connor collected during his lifelong interest in the case.
The collection contains 58 original documents and letters of the original signers of the Declaration of Independence, and related material. The documents and letters range in date from 1756 to 1811 and include personal and professional correspondence, receipts, and legal documents.
The collection contains 50 original letters, documents, and portraits of the original signers of the U.S. Constitution, related material, and one oversize color portrait of Alexander Hamilton. The letters and documents range in date from 1759 to 1825.
A collection of Victorian ephemera from both the United States and England. Ranging in scope from legal documents to greeting cards, advertisements to playbills, and including a large assortment of bookplates, this collection provides a detailed reflection of American and English Victorian life.
See a Spotlight on the Howe Library collection at Brandeis, which includes several hundred books in the fields of science, medicine, and disabilities; the papers of Irving Kenneth Zola and of Rosemary and Gunnar Dybwad; and thousands of pamphlets, case studies, and journals.
Professor of Politics and American Civilization at Brandeis University from 1960 to 1984, his most significant publications include The Brandeis Papers Commission and The Growth of Presidential Power.
This collection includes nearly a hundred different American propaganda posters from World War I and World War I with a variety of aims. The subjects of the posters include programs such as The United War Work Campaign and Liberty and Victory Loans.
