Skip to main content

E-Resources Help

Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database?

Understanding Holdings Information

Holdings can also refer to the copies, volumes, issues, or parts of a title owned by a library as shown in the online catalog. This includes physical and electronic volumes, issues or parts. 

 

In OneSearch, when searching for a journal you will always see the year the journal began. If there is a dash, that means the journal is currently being published. This information comes from the bibliographic record and does not indicate that we have access beginning in that year.  

Journal of the American Musicological Society with an arrow pointing to the publication year

 

Print Journals

When you select the Journal title, you will see the full record. For print journals, there will be a list of all bound journals we have in the stacks and the years we have appear about the items. For print journals, in the Description, there will be the volume number and/or issue number along with the year.

Example of a print journal entry in OneSearch with arrows pointing to the years covered such as v.34 (2006)-v.35 (2007) and the description field v.28 (2000)

 

Electronic Journals

Unlike print journals, electronic journals have a variety of holdings including single issues, embargoes, and different ranges of years of coverage.

 

Singe Issue

For a single issue, only the year the issue was published will appear. You will find most of these for periodicals from the 19th century. A good example is the Lancet from Middlebury, VT. With single issues, the date is displayed without a dash, meaning the journal was only published for that year.

Search result of The lancet with an arrow pointing toward the year 1876

 

Also from the item record, in the View Online box, there is no holdings information under the text "Full text available at." This also indicates that this is a single issue.

Item record of the Lancet showing no holdings informaiton under the text "Full text available at". This means this is a single issue.

 

Non-Current Subscription

With electronic journal subscriptions, we typically get perpetual access to the years to which we've subscribed and these appear as a group of years with a beginning and end. Sometimes this information is simply just a date range, for example 1997-2009. Keep in mind with date ranges, that does not mean our access began in Jan. and ended in Dec. Most of our holdings information will include a volume, sometimes an issue, and the year our subscription began and when it ended. 

In the option to View Online, under the text Full text available displays the holding information. In this example, available from 1999 volume 1 issue 1 until 1999 volume 1 issue 4

 

Current Subscription

Electronic journals to which we have a current subscription will show holdings information with the year and volume our access began.

In the View Online option, under the text Full Text Available is the holdings for the current subscription for the journal. Coverage begins with volume 1.

 

Embargoed Journals

Numerous journals have embargoes on either electronic access or the articles themselves. This is common among the sciences and social sciences. Occasionally, embargoes are placed on materials related to the humanities. If a journal is embargoed, this information will appear under the holdings information with the text "Most recent X year(s) not available."

In the View Online option, under the holdings information, appears the embargo information. This journal has an embargo of the Most recent year is not available

If you have any questions about holdings information or find incorrect holdings information in OneSearch, please contact us.