Skip to main content

E-Resources Help

Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database?

Reporting a problem with an e-resource

How do I report a problem with an electronic resource?

Occasionally, for a variety of reasons, a resource may be temporarily unavailable. If a resource is unavailable, you may want to wait and try again in a few minutes.

If a resource is consistently unavailable, please report the problem via e-resources@brandeis.edu or by filling out this form. Please provide a detailed description of the problem along with the following information:

  • Your name and contact information
  • What browser and what version browser you are using (i.e. Firefox 79.x, Google Chrome 84.x, Safari 13.x, Internet Explorer 11.x, Microsoft Edge, etc.)
  • Whether you are on-campus or off-campus
  • Are you using a wired or wireless connection
  • Your operating system (i.e., Windows 10, Mac OS Catalina, etc.)
  • The citation for the particular article or resource
  • How you tried to access the resource (through OneSearch, Databases A-Z, Find Journals A-Z, link on the library website, link on a library subject guide, bookmarked link, or emailed link)

How do I access electronic resources?

There are a number of ways to access electronic resources. These links can all be found on the Brandeis Library website.

OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool where you can search the library's catalog, Articles & More, All in OneSearch and Course Reserves.

Our A-Z Database List is a central location for all our databases. 
You can browse journal titles by using our Find Journals button located on the top banner of OneSearch.

 

How do I know what Resource to use? Where can I go for help using a database?

Databases A-Z list: databases.library.brandeis.edu

When you are using library databases in your research, you can go to the page to explore available resources in a number of ways:

  • Know the name of the database you are looking for? Search for the database name in the search box. You can also search across the database descriptions.

Databases A-Z drop-down search options

  • Not sure of the name of a database? Use the Subjects filter to explore the databases for different subject areas. 

List of All Subjects

 

When you select a subject, you’ll see a list of “best bets” (highly recommended databases for the subject area), additional recommended databases, contact information for the subject librarian, and a list of relevant library research guides:

Subject librarian contact information and subject area Best Bets list of databases

 

  • Looking for databases with specific types of content? Use the Database Types drop-down menu to explore databases containing images, primary sources, data & statistics, streaming audio & video, government information, and more.
  • Interested in databases from a specific vendor? Click on the Vendors/Providers drop-down menu to view databases from ProQuest, EBSCO, and others.