Research Guides: HIST 170A: Italian Films, Italian Histories: Books

Search Tip

Search tip: Search for books by either Keywords or Subject Headings. Start with a Keyword search and identify some relevant books. Then look at the subject headings for those books. You can follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find similar books, or you can use the terms in the subject headings to identify other keywords to try.

Example Subject Headings:
Motion pictures -- Italy -- History
Mafia -- Italy
Italy -- Politics and government -- 1945-1976
Italy -- Politics and government -- 1976-1994
Italy -- Social conditions -- 1945-1976
Italy -- Social conditions -- 1976-1994

Finding Books on Your Research Topic

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool. Start typing in the search box to view search scope options, including:
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.

More Information about Interlibrary Loan

The Value of Browsing the Shelves

For research in History, you'll find that many relevant titles are in the DG call number range. This call number range is on Floor 3 of Goldfarb Library.You can browse our collection or other library collections that use the Library of Congress Classification System by going to the DG section of the stacks.

Ebooks

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable, full-text e-books in multiple disciplines. (Formerly named ebrary.)
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries. It contains a wealth of scanned out-of-copyright materials, including many important texts for musical research. HathiTrust content, including online versions of print materials owned by Brandeis, can also be found when you search Brandeis OneSearch using Articles & More or All OneSearch.