Research Guides: HIST 136A: Global Wars and Revolutions in the Eighteenth Century: Secondary Sources: Articles & Databases

Search Tips

Start by brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

If you see an article you'd like to read but you don't see the full text, click on the "GET IT" button. This will open a new window that will allow you to see if Brandeis has access to the article through another database or in print. If we don't have the article online or in print, you'll see an option to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Recommended Databases

For a broad search, start with the Articles & More tab of the Library's OneSearch. This searches across many of our subscription academic databases to find individual articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and more.

For a more focused searched, try one of these recommended databases (To access the complete selection of databases at Brandeis, visit our library database list.):

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Tip: You can use the Advanced Search to limit your search to sources about a specific time period of interest, such as the 18th century.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A great resource for journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Excellent collection of hundreds of scholarly humanities and social sciences journals. All articles are available in full text.
World History In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains over primary sources, as well as full-text articles from over 100+ journals.

Interlibrary Loan

Need to place an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for an article?

Specific Journals of Interest

The databases listed here search across many journal titles. You may also want to search within specific journals of interest as well. Here are some suggested journals.

Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History
"An internationally respected forum for the presentation and discussion of recent research in the history of the British Empire and Commonwealth and in comparative European colonial experiences. Particular attention is given to imperial policy and rivalries; colonial rule and local response; the rise of nationalism; the process of decolonization and the transfer of power and institutions; the evolution of the Imperial and Commonwealth association in general; and the expansion and transformation of British culture."
William and Mary Quarterly
"A leading journal in early American history and culture, the William and Mary Quarterly publishes refereed scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World–New World contacts to the early nineteenth century. Its articles, sources and interpretations, and reviews of books range from British North America and the United States to Europe, West Africa, the Caribbean, and the Spanish American borderlands."
Journal of British Studies
Presents research in British studies covering the Middle Ages through present times