Skip to main content
“Brandeis

Music

Welcome to a selective guide to the fundamental and essential resources necessary for undertaking undergraduate and graduate research in music and music-related topics. (Originally compiled by Darwin Scott)

Facsimile editions & reprints

The library owns hundreds of facsimile editions of music manuscripts and early imprints; a few deluxe facsimile editions are kept in Special Collections.

To find music facsimiles at Brandeis with OneSearch, choose the Library Catalog option and click on the Browse Search link above the main search box. Choose "By subject" from the drop-down menu, and type in music manuscripts facsimiles.

Rare early editions of music

Experience the look and feel of actual music imprints and books on music from the sixteenth and first half of the seventeenth centuries!

The Walter F. and Alice Gorham Collection of Early Music Imprints, 1501-1650
Located in Special Collections - restricted use.

The Coven music microforms collection

One of the most comprehensive collections of music manuscripts, early imprints, and dissertations in New England.

Some hints for browsing the Coven collection (either by drawers or by using the call no. search in OneSearch):

Most music manuscripts containing works by several known or unknown composers are found under the base call no. M 2.8, arranged in alphabetical order by the city and library that holds the manuscript (for example, F495 = Biblioteca medicea laurenziana, Florence) 

Many manuscripts of works by single composers are found under the base call no. ML 96.5, arranged in alphabetical order by composer (for example, J. S. Bach = ML 96.5 B186). 

Among the many important microfilm sets in the Coven Collection are:

Pre-1801 Books about Music and Related Topics in the Library of Congress Collections as Listed in RISM.
This set contains all pre-1801 printed writings about music and related topics in the Library of Congress collections, arranged alphabetically by author, in concordance with RISM, B/VI. If the book you want was published before 1801, start here!
Creative Arts - Microfilm ML113 .P74 (220 Reels) -- Use printed index to locate individual titles

History of Music: Early Printed Music & Books on Music in the Houghton Library and the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
Creative Arts - Microforms M1 .H666 1985 (107 reels) -- Use Wood catalog to locate individual titles

The Music Collection of Christ Church, Oxford.
English and continental manuscripts of the 16th and 17th centuries.
Creative Arts - Microforms M2.8 .O95 1981 (60 reels) -- Use printed guide to locate individual manuscripts

Venetian Opera Libretti.
A virtually complete set of opera librettos printed in Venice between 1637 and 1769.
Creative Arts - Microforms ML48 .V4 (41 reels) -- Use Alm catalog to locate individual titles

Among the many important microfiche sets in the Coven Collection are:

Johann Sebastian Bach: Musikhandschriften der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz. Teil 1, Die Bach-Sammlung.
Creative Arts - Microfiche ML96.4 .B3 M8 1997 -- Use printed guide to locate individual manuscripts

Ludwig van Beethoven: Musikhandschriften der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz. Teil 3, Die Beethoven-Sammlung.
Creative Arts - Microfiche ML96.4 .B4 M8 1997 -- Use printed guide to locate individual manuscripts

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Musikhandschriften aus der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz und aus der Jagiellonischen Bibliothek in Krakau. Teil IV. Die Mozart-Sammlung.
Creative Arts - Microfiche ML96.4 .M6 2005 -- Use printed guide to locate individual manuscripts

Georg Philippe Telemann: Musikhandschriften der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz. Teil II, Die Georg Philipp Telemann-Sammlung.
Creative Arts - Microfiche ML96.4 .T4 M8 2001 -- Use printed guide to locate individual manuscripts