Research Guides: HS 307a: Immigrant Integration in the United States: News and Non-Profit Sources

Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Contains full text copies of more than historical American newspapers printed between 1690 and 1876, focusing largely on the 18th century. Brandeis has access to series 1.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Includes the following English-language Chinese historical newspapers: North China Herald (1850-1941); Canton Times (1919-1920); China Critic (1939-1946); The China Press (1925-1938); China Weekly Review (1917-1953); Chinese Recorder (1868-1940); Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Peking Daily News (1914-1917); Peking Gazette (1915-1917); Peking Leader (1918-1919); Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921); Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.

New York Times
1980 - Present. UNet login required.
Boston Globe
Includes full-text issues Boston Globe 1980 - Current. UNet login required.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Indexes and provides full text to over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the American ethnic, minority, and native press, 1960 to present, starting dates vary. UNet login required.
LexisNexis Academic All News Search (1980-Present)
Search across a wide range of newspapers. If you click on the "Advanced Options" under the search box, you'll be able to limit your search to book reviews.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
NOTE: The latest version of RealPlayer is required to view videos.

The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1996), Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2018), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and Washington Post (1877-2006)

Pew Research Center
Pew conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues. Lots of analysis on immigration policy.
American Bar Association Commission on Immigration
The Commission directs the Association’s efforts to ensure fair treatment and full due process rights for immigrants and refugees within the United States.
National Immigration Justice Center
IJC provides direct legal services to and advocates for these populations through policy reform, impact litigation, and public education. Since its founding three decades ago, NIJC has been unique in blending individual client advocacy with broad-based systemic change.
American Immigration Council
Through research and policy analysis, litigation and communications, and international exchange, the Council seeks to shape a twenty-first century vision of the American immigrant experience.
Center for Immigration Studies
Providing immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States.