GIS Data

Built by the community and William & Mary geoLab, geoBoundaries is an online, open license resource of boundaries (i.e., state, county) for every country in the world. They currently track approximately 1 million boundaries within over 200 entities, including all 195 UN member states.

Includes files of the world's administrative areas/boundaries (e.g., countries and lower-level subdivisions).

Provides access to data from Esri and affiliates that can be downloaded and used in ArcGIS desktop software.

Data sets endorsed by the North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS) for use in small-scale maps.

IPUMS boundary files (shapefiles) for subnational, national, and international data mapping.

Global data sets of terrestrial and marine protected areas.

Includes maps, geospatial data (e.g., road networks, census boundaries), postal code conversion tools, etc. produced by Statistics Canada.

Comprehensive series of datasets related to the administrative geography of Chinese History. Includes nationwide coverages (for the years 1820 and 1911), and time series (for the Dynastic period from 221 BCE to 1911 CE). Additional info is available on the project website.

Historical GIS for Tokugawa Periods. Developed for Japanese Librarians Meeting, CEAL, San Diego 2004.

MassGIS is the official GIS data clearinghouse for the state of MA. The site includes data for the census, administrative boundaries, infrastructure, recreation, and more.

Download data and documentation describing Boston from various sources or visualize BARI data in an interactive map.

Project documenting the spatial history of the Russian Empire. Includes historical administrative boundaries, biodiversity, migration data, etc. More information is available on the project's website.

Spatial data sets from the U.S. Census Bureau, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas.

Major civil areas for the U.S., including states, territories, counties, Federal and Native American areas, congressional districts, cities and towns, etc.

Geospatial data portal from the National Center for Education Statistics. Includes U.S. school locations, district boundaries, and more.

Download geodata for United States geographies from 1790 to 2019 in the form of shapefiles and other geospatial formats.

Provides information about the creation and boundary changes of every county in the United States, from the 1600s to 2000s; includes downloadable shapefiles for use with GIS programs.

Digital boundary files for every U.S. Congressional District in use between 1789 and 2012.