This guide includes recommended library databases and freely available website, as well as tips for effective research. Use the menu options on the left to explore suggested resources for each course topic.
Please feel free to contact Laura Hibbler, library liaison for History, with any questions. You can email Laura at lhibbler@brandeis.edu or schedule a research appointment.
Try the following search techniques to refine your results when using the databases listed on this guide. These techniques will work in most online library resources.*
| Search Technique | Description | Example |
| " " | Use quotation marks to search for a exact phrase. | "voter registration" |
| AND | Look for sources that contain all of your search terms. Use AND to narrow your search and get fewer results. | immigration AND China |
| OR | Look for sources that contain any of your search terms. Use OR to broaden you search and get more results. | habit OR addiction |
| NOT | Look for sources that contain one of your search terms but not the other. | Cuba NOT "Bay of Pigs" |
| * | Use an asterisk to search for variations of a keyword that begins with the same root or stem. | immigra* will return results for immigration, immigrant, and immigrants |
*Check the database's help documentation to confirm if a technique will work in the database you are using.
If you are using a database with an Advanced Search form, try using the Advanced Search features to refine your search.
Since these databases cover many decades, it can be helpful to limit your search to a specific date range.
Think about what terms that might have been used to describe your topic during the time period. For example: the name of a specific person or organization or even a term that wouldn't be used today.
These databases often sort results in chronological order. In some cases, it might be helpful to sort by relevance/best matches first.
In addition to searching, try browsing these collections to learn about sources that you wouldn't have necessarily thought of searching for.
