Research Guides: HIST/SOC 170b: Gender and Sexuality in South Asia: Find Scholarly Literature

History Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

lhibbler@brandeis.edu

781-736-4656

Subjects: African and African American Studies, Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, History, Rabb GPS

Sociology Librarian

Maric Kramer

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Find Scholarly Literature

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, and anthologies pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers sources published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and other scholarship in the field of history (excluding the history of the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers from sociology and related fields. 1952-present.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.

Guides to the Literature

When investigating the literature on a topic, it can be useful to have a guide! Here are a few sources we recommend for getting a sense of the literature on your topic within and across academic disciplines.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The complete set of histories published by Cambridge University Press. These are authoritative books on a wide variety of historical periods and regions.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007 (continuously updated)
Explanations of key concepts, theories, and figures in sociology. Browse by topic (such as Health & Medicine, or Social Psychology) or search for a key concept (like "Attitudes and Behavior") or a major figure (like Max Weber). Although this resource was initially published in 2007, it undergoes updates twice a year to keep the content fresh.