Research Guides: HS 263F: Applied Geographic Information Systems Workshop: Tracking Land Use Change

Tracking Land Use Change
Aerial Photos and Satellite Imagery Guide >>

GIS & Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Environmental Studies, Linguistics

Introduction

During our library workshop, we'll use some of the apps from Esri's Living Atlas of the World to examine land use change in a study area. We'll practice how to examine spectral profiles, visualize different spectral bands, explore changes over time, and we'll discuss how the different ways that satellite imagery data can be integrated into ArcGIS Pro projects.

Class Activities

Background Info

Back to Basics with Imagery (Esri UK)
Story map covers some of the fundamentals of working with imagery data in ArcGIS products and different use cases.

Highlighted Learn ArcGIS Lessons

Get Started with Imagery (Learn ArcGIS)
Explore 40 years of Landsat imagery from around the world.
Explore Satellite Imagery for Africa (Learn ArcGIS path)
Discover satellite imagery for the African continent, perform image analysis on real life examples, and learn the fundamental concepts of imagery.

Living Atlas of the World Apps

Landsat Viewer App
Access Landsat imagery from the last forty years to visualize how the Earth's surface has changed over time.
Landsat Explorer App
An application demonstrating analysis of Landsat on AWS scenes with visual renderings and indices. Includes a built-in tutorial that will guide you through using the app.
Sentinel-2 Land Cover Explorer App
This app provides dynamic visual and statistical change by comparing annual slices of the Sentinel-2 10m Land Use/Land Cover data as you explore the map.
Digital Earth Africa Explorer App
This app contains imagery layers from Digital Earth Africa, Landsat 8 and Sentinel-2, and can be used to explore the layers based on different rendering options, spectral profiles and temporal profiles.
Earth Observation Explorer App
Visualize and analyze Landsat and Sentinel-2 satellite imagery in a single app.
Wayback Imagery App
Wayback is a digital archive, providing users with access to the different versions of World Imagery created over time. Coverage includes images from Feb. 2014 to present.

Learn More about Raster Data

Introduction to Raster Data (Data Carpentry)
Intro to raster data. The lesson is geared for R users, but the underlying concepts are applicable to any GIS.

Learn More about Imagery and Land Use Change

Introduction to Imagery & Remote Sensing
An ArcGIS Tutorial Series. Topics covered include georeferencing imagery, working with elevation and time data, deep learning techniques, raster modeling, etc.
GIS for Climate Resilience
An ArcGIS Tutorial Series. Includes learning pathways for community action, urban and community planning, and natural resource management.
Imagery & Remote Sensing Lessons for ArcGIS Pro (Learn ArcGIS)
Collection of lessons on working with imagery and remote sensing data in ArcGIS Pro.
Work with image services in ArcGIS Pro (ArcGIS Imagery Workflows)
Includes workflows for how to add Living Atlas of the World data to an ArcGIS Pro project.

Pre-Trained Models

Pre-Trained Deep Learning Models (Learn ArcGIS)
Explore over 30 pre-trained deep learning models for imagery workflows available on the Living Atlas.

Blogs and Websites

Sentinel-2: More Than Meets the Eye (ArcGIS Blog)
Blog post highlighting different use cases for working with Sentinel-2 imagery data.
Sentinel-2 Mission Guide (European Space Agency)
The SENTINEL-2 Mission Guide provides a high-level description of the mission objectives, satellite description and ground segment. It also addresses the related heritage missions, thematic areas and Copernicus services, orbit characteristics and coverage, instrument payload, and data products.
Landsat Resources (ArcGIS Blog)
Collection of blog posts the Landsat Explorer App and Landsat imagery in ArcGIS products.
USGS: Landsat Missions
USGS resources on the Landsat missions, including data, FAQs, documentation, and other resources.
Explore imagery archives using World Imagery Wayback (ArcGIS Blog)
ArcGIS Blog post on how to use the different capabilities within the Wayback Imagery app.

Additional Resources

Spatial Statistics Resources
Esri's Spatial Statistics team has compiled resources including Esri User Conference presentations, hands-on tutorials, and everything you need to get started using the Esri R-ArcGIS Bridge.
GIS for Climate Action MOOC (Esri)
Upcoming Esri MOOC that runs from May 1 - Jun 12, 2024.