Research Guides: LGLS 137: Law In Shakespeare: Literary Resources

History Liaison Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

ztweinstein@brandeis.edu

Subjects: Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, Education, English and Literature, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , French and Francophone, Hispanic Studies, History, Italian, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish and Latin American Literature

General Literature Criticism Resources

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles, journals, books and dissertations covering topics in literature, modern languages, linguistics, folklore, and dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE
Excellent collection of hundreds of scholarly humanities and social sciences journals. All articles are available in full text.
ProQuest One Literature
Collection of sources including diverse primary texts, criticism, full-text journals, book reviews, dissertations, eBooks, reference material, audio, and video to support the study of literature and linguistics. (Includes all content from Literature Online, plus additional content.)

Shakespeare Specific Resources

Keep in mind that all of your texts can be used as both primary and secondary sources! A play performance is a primary source if you analyze it, but you can also use it as an example of how the director analyzed the play. Don't be afraid to try all sorts of resources in the process of your paper!

JSTOR Understanding: Shakespeare
This tool allows you to select a play and find the exact line you want to analyze, and see all articles in JSTOR that cite that line. This is a fantastic tool to see what other secondary source articles reference the play you want to research

Royal Shakespeare Collection
High-definition video recordings of featuring leading Shakespearean actors and directors, along with supplemental teaching materials.
Perseus Digital Library
A constantly evolving digital library chiefly concerned with Greco-Roman materials, but also containing rich resources on Shakespeare, Marlowe, and other modern subjects.
Theatre and Drama Premium
Collection of streaming video, text, and image resources for studying theater, including Black Drama, Contemporary World Drama, Drama Texts Collection, Performance Design Archive, Twentieth Century Drama, Theatre in Context Collection, Theatre in Performance Collection, and The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection.

Shakespeare (journal)
Shakespeare publishes articles drawn from the best international research on the most recent developments in Shakespearean criticism, historical and textual scholarship, and performance.

The journal promotes the goal of the British Shakespeare Association to bridge the gap between literary and performance based criticism of Shakespeare, and provides an outlet for Shakespeare research undertaken to the very highest standards from around the world.
Shakespeare Quarterly (journal)
Founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America, Shakespeare Quarterly is a refereed journal committed to publishing articles in the vanguard of Shakespeare studies.
Shakespeare Bulletin (journal)
Shakespeare Bulletin is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal which publishes articles at the cutting edge of Shakespearean and early modern performance studies and theater history.