Skip to main content

Library Information for Parents & Families

The Brandeis Library has resources and services to help your students thrive during their time here on campus!

The Brandeis Library has resources and services to help your students thrive during their time here on campus!

Research support

Every first-year student at Brandeis is matched with a Personal Librarian who is available to answer questions, help with papers and research, and let them know what’s going on in the library. Check out the Personal Librarian page to see who your student’s librarian is and encourage your student to reach out to his or her librarian with questions. After the first year, students are welcome to continue contacting their Personal Librarian. Once students declare a major, we also encourage them to contact the Subject Librarian for their major.

Our Research Help page outlines all of the ways that students can ask questions--online chat, email, drop-in help, research consultations and more! If your student is getting started with a research assignment, you can also refer them to the library’s Research Guides.

Collections

The library has an excellent collection of print and electronic materials for your student’s research needs. Along with our collection of print books, we have databases offering articles, ebooks and other online research materials. If your student needs a source that is not available, your student can submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we will try to get a copy from another library.

In addition, University Archives & Special Collections holds unique and rare books and manuscripts on many subjects for primary-source research. 

Study Spaces

Is your student trying to find a good place to study? The library provides a variety of study spaces, including designated quiet areas, group study areas, and the library Starbucks cafe. We’re also open until 2:00 a.m. five nights per week during the semester and 24/7 during final exams.

Students can check the BranVan’s schedule if they're leaving the library late at night.

MakerLab

The MakerLab provides access, training and opportunities to work with emerging technologies, such as 3D printers, 3D Scanners, VR headsets and tools to build virtual worlds, and Robotics and Drones.

Multimedia Lab

Is your student working on a multimedia project? The Sound & Image Media Studios (SIMS) provide members of the community with training and support for project work in video production, audio production, digital photography, graphic design, and animation.