Research Guides: Public Policy: Books & Journal Literature

Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

Remember: NEVER PAY

If you hit a Pay Wall, a page that asks you to pay a fee to access a journal or article NEVER PAY! You will often have access through Brandeis or Inter-Library Loan. Contact Aimee to find out more.

Additional Resources

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Find high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Included databases are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

History Makers

HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An African American video oral history archive. Provides access to oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans.

Where to Start Searching

Brandeis OneSearch
Library Catalog

Library Catalog: Use this option to search for physical items (books, print journals, DVDs, etc.), ebooks, and streaming media owned by the library.
Articles & More: Use this option to search across many databases of articles in journals, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, and dictionaries. This does not search all databases, however.
All OneSearch: Use this option to search both the Library Catalog and Articles & More.
Course Reserves: Use this option to search for books that have been set aside for your courses.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!

Google Scholar
Google Scholar uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature, including articles, book chapters, and books.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
WorldCat.org (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog for libraries around the world. Use it to search material from other libraries and then request materials through Brandeis Library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Journal Literature

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent coverage of international business and economics topics from journals, magazines, reports, and data sources.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, scientific, technical, and policy information across the agricultural and environmental sciences. Includes topics such as animal sciences, climate change, conservation, environmental law and policy, natural resources, public health, renewable energy, and sustainable development. Includes the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two key databases for anthropology: the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature. Broad coverage from early 19th century to present.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and indexing in thousands of journals in business, international business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and more. Please note that Brandeis access to this resource will end on December 31, 2024. More information.
CNKI (China Academic Journals) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from Chinese journals. Brandeis' subscription includes coverage for 2017 to present in the following areas: Medicine/Public Health; Literature/History/Philosophy; Politics/Military Affairs/Law; Education/Social Sciences; and Economics/Management. CNKI is also available on a Chinese language platform.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that provides access to scholarly journals, curriculum and teaching guides, research reports, and other materials related to the field of education.
Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Identify grantmakers and potential funding sources with this database from the Foundation Center. Updated weekly, it also provides keyword searching of IRS 990 filings.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes full text law journals, US government documents, the Federal Register, U.S. Treaties, official Supreme Court opinions and more. Definitive database for legal research and policy work.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public policy papers and grey literature from over 120 countries, 1915-present.
Policy File Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. Updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the NIH, includes full text of all research funded by the NIH since 2008.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search journals of social work, social welfare, social policy and community development, 1979 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in political science and its complementary fields, such as international relations, law, and public administration policy. 1975 to present.