Research Guides: SOC 110a: Latinx Sociology: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Provides 100+ full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Includes materials which are indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Coverage: 1966 - current
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of several databases: Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and ProQuest's Sociology Database. Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!

Find more on the Databases A to Z list.

Get an Overview of Your Topic

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007 (continuously updated)
Explanations of key concepts, theories, and figures in sociology. Browse by topic (such as Health & Medicine, or Social Psychology) or search for a key concept (like "Attitudes and Behavior") or a major figure (like Max Weber). Although this resource was initially published in 2007, it undergoes updates twice a year to keep the content fresh.

News Sources

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.

Statistics, Data, and Reports

Pew Research Center: Hispanics/Latinos
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Find information on demographic trends, public opinion, and more among the Latinx population in the U.S.
U.S. Census Bureau: Hispanic Origin
Official page from the U.S. Census Bureau with data and reports about the Hispanic/Latinx population in the United States.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. Find qualitative and quantitative datasets, accompanying codebooks, publication lists and more. Formats include SPSS, Stata and Excel. Access to this resource from off campus requires that users initially register for an account while on campus.

Working/studying remotely? Request access to ICPSR data and resources by contacting icpsr-help@umich.edu. When you do, please let them know that you are a current student, faculty, or staff member at Brandeis University, and be sure to use your @brandeis.edu email address.

Oral Histories and Other Primary Sources

Nuestras Raíces: The Latino Oral History Project of Rhode Island
Started in 1991, this collection of personal stories documents the history of Rhode Island’s Spanish-speaking community.
Bracero Oral History Project
The Bracero Program brought millions of Mexican guest workers to the United States. This cooperative project sought to record the recollections of those involved in the program.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digitized materials from libraries, archives and museums around the United States.

Latinx Sociologists (and Friends)

Latina/o Sociology | American Sociological Association
The purpose of the Section on Latina/Latino Sociology (SLS) is to encourage and promote empirical research, theoretical development, and the teaching of issues relating to the Latina and Latino population, particularly in but not only the United States. Check out the award recipients and newsletters to become aware of Latinx sociologists and others working in this field.
Latino/a Sociology: Toward a New Paradigm
In this article, Maxine Baca Zinn and Alfredo Mirandé discuss the historical roots and contemporary debates of Latino/a Sociology. They also provide a personal narrative of their careers as sociologists within the context of the development of the field.
more...less...
Baca Zinn, Maxine, and Alfredo Mirandé. 2021. “Latino/a Sociology: Toward a New Paradigm.” Sociology of Race and Ethnicity 7(3):304–17. doi: 10.1177/2332649220971326.

Scholars are on social media too! They're having public conversations, and posting about their own & others' research. Do any of the authors you have read for class have a presence on social media?

Connect Google Scholar to Brandeis Library

Set up "Library Links" in Google Scholar to connect to full text of articles through Brandeis Library.

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."