Research Guides: SOC 113b: Sociology of Race and Racism: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Resources from the American Sociological Association (ASA)

Sociology of Race and Ethnicity (journal)
Cutting-edge sociological research on race and ethnicity. The official journal of Section on Racial and Ethnic Minorities of the American Sociological Association (ASA) publishes original research as well as teaching notes.
American Sociological Review (journal)
The flagship journal of the ASA publishes original research across subdisciplines of sociology, including race and racism.
ASA Section on Racial and Ethnic Minorities
This section of the American Sociological Association (ASA) brings together scholars who focus on race and ethnicity in their work. The section publishes a journal, a newsletter, and issues awards for scholarship and service, as well as graduate and undergrad research.
ASA Section on Race, Gender and Class
Supports research, teaching and practice that examines the interactive effects of race, gender, and class phenomena.
ASA Section on Inequality, Poverty and Mobility
Fosters research and disseminates knowledge on the distribution of material and nonmaterial resources, and the economic, social, and cultural forces that generate and perpetuate unequal distributions of these resources.

Statistics, Data, and Reports

Pew Research Center: Race and Ethnicity
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Find information on racial and ethnic identity, racial bias and discrimination, and more. U.S.-centric.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. Find qualitative and quantitative datasets, accompanying codebooks, publication lists and more. Formats include SPSS, Stata and Excel. Access to this resource from off campus requires that users initially register for an account while on campus.

Working/studying remotely? Request access to ICPSR data and resources by contacting icpsr-help@umich.edu. When you do, please let them know that you are a current student, faculty, or staff member at Brandeis University, and be sure to use your @brandeis.edu email address.

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of several databases: Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and ProQuest's Sociology Database. Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!

Find more on the Databases A to Z list.

Get an Overview of Your Topic

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007 (continuously updated)
Explanations of key concepts, theories, and figures in sociology. Browse by topic (such as Health & Medicine, or Social Psychology) or search for a key concept (like "Attitudes and Behavior") or a major figure (like Max Weber). Although this resource was initially published in 2007, it undergoes updates twice a year to keep the content fresh.

Scholars on Social Media

Scholars are on social media too! They're having public conversations, and posting about their own & others' research. Below are a couple of accounts you might follow to get started. Do any of the authors you have read for class have a presence on social media?