Research Guides: SOC 129a: Sociology of Religion: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

New to the Sociology of Religion?

Are you new to sociology? Or new to the sociological study of religion? The two journals linked below publish works by sociologists and other social scientists that study religion. Browsing some recent issues may help you to learn more about the topics and methods used in this field.

Journal for the Social Scientific Study of Religion (JSSR)
This multi-disciplinary journal publishes articles, research notes, and book reviews on the social scientific study of religion.
Sociology of Religion
The official journal of the Association for the Sociology of Religion is published quarterly for the purpose of advancing scholarship in the sociological study of religion.

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Databases: Search Scholarly Articles by Subject Area

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of several databases: Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and ProQuest's Sociology Database. Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, this database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Index Islamicus (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarship about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies. Searches journals and collected volumes dedicated specifically to topics in Jewish Studies, which helps narrow your search from the get-go. For Hebrew and Arabic interfaces, please use the globe icon in the top right.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of articles on the history and culture of the parts of North America that make up the present-day US and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.

Encyclopedias, Bibliographies, and More: Find Background Information

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007 (continuously updated)
Explanations of key concepts, theories, and figures in sociology. Browse by topic (such as Health & Medicine, or Social Psychology) or search for a key concept (like "Attitudes and Behavior") or a major figure (like Max Weber). Although this resource was initially published in 2007, it undergoes updates twice a year to keep the content fresh.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
Encyclopedia of Judaism This link opens in a new window
Presents the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. Emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, however this edition also includes principal entries on contemporary issues.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.
Oxford Reference: Religion This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online contains facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Primary Sources: Explore the Public Conversation on Religion

Religious Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

Data and Statistics: When You Need Numbers

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of surveys, polls, and other data on religion in the U.S. and around the world.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan "fact tank" that conducts data-driven social science research such as public opinion polling.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides current statistical data and comparisons for a wide-ranging and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information. Sources include market forecasts, dossiers, and industry reports.

Cohen Center for Modern Jewish Studies
Social science research center at Brandeis University that focuses on modern Jewish life. The home of the Steinhardt Social Research Institute, which develops reliable quantitative data about the US Jewish population

Cite Your Sources in Chicago Style

The Chicago Manual of Style contains a set of standards and guidelines for writing and citation in academic work. There are two variations of Chicago style:

Notes and Bibliography: Uses footnotes or endnotes with a bibliography.
Author-Date: Uses parenthetical in-text citations with a bibliography.

Your syllabus guides you to use the Author-Date variation.

Quick Guide to Author-Date Style (Chicago)
This quick guide to the Author-Date variation of Chicago style provides examples of some of the most commonly-cited types of sources.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the 17th & 18th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style. Fully searchable.