A primary source might be:
In all of these cases, primary sources are materials created by participants, observers, witnesses, or recorders. They might be documents or artifacts; they could be textual or visual; and they might be physical (like a letter) or digital (like an email).
Where to find The Justice online depends on the date you need and how you want to use it:
March 1949- May 2004: For the longest range of dates available see The Justice on the Internet Archive.
Please note that in order to use keyword searching function, make sure you use the "search inside" function instead of the general search once you have opened an individual issue reel. To access the "search inside" function, click on the magnifying glass icon on the left hand side of each issue reel. If your keyword is in the issues, hits will appear on the bar below the newspaper. Sometimes the Internet Archive is undergoing maintenance and the search function is disabled; you can still browse the issues much the same way you would read an actual newspaper by flipping page by page. Each digitized “reel” of film comprises a range of dates, usually one to three years. To see the date range, click on each individual newspaper icon; in the metadata section underneath the paper, the "volume" section will give you the date range covered.
March 1949- May 1970: For easy access to a searchable version see The Justice on the Brandeis Institutional Repository.
Each issue here is a separate PDF. You will need Adobe Acrobat to view it. Once you click on an issue, it may automatically download before you can read it. In order to run a keyword search for each issue, use Control-F to enable searching capabilities.
2001-present: For online archives to the text of articles see the archives of The Justice Newspaper.
The quick search function is fast for finding keywords, and the result is web text. There is also an option to view various entire issues on this website as well!
You can also find the physical Office Files of The Justice in Archives & Special Collections (Level 2 of the library)!
Online Exhibits (open access)
Brandeis BLK Archives Collective Black Space Portal: The Occupation of Ford Hall: a timeline for the occupation of Ford Hall 1969
Brandeis BLK Archives Collective Black Space Portal: The Pearlman Takeover: An account of Third World solidarities and student organizing in the 1970s
Lynn Goldsmith Papers: The Diary and Papers of a Young Civil Rights Worker: Brandeis alumna Lynn Goldsmith assisted with voter registration in South Carolina as part of the SCOPE project in 1965. She donated her papers related to her experience to the archives in 2011
Remembering Ford and Sydeman Halls: various materials about the Ford Hall occupation in 1969
Digitized Material (open access)
General course catalogs: look at past catalogs for information on staff and faculty, maps, mission statements, and student organizations
Brandeis Review: skim past issues for articles related to campus history
Brandeis Magazine: skim past issues for articles related to campus history
The following collections contain material only accessible at the Brandeis University Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections. Arrangements may be made to provide scans from these collections, or to work with them in-person in the Reading Room. The archives Reading Room is located on Level 2 of the Goldfarb Library directly below the Information and Borrowing Desk. Each of the following links out to the finding aid for the collection. For more information on finding aids, please see the Finding Aids 101 guide.
Student Activism: a topical collection containing a variety of materials on different aspects of student activism at Brandeis over the years
Gordon Fellman papers: Professor Emeritus Gordon Fellman began teaching at Brandeis in 1964; these papers contain a wealth of information about the Ford Hall 1969 and Pearlman occupations
University Periodical collection: items created both by students and the administration
Lemberg Center for the Study of Violence: From 1965-1973, the Lemberg Center for the Study of Violence at Brandeis University collected data and conducted research dealing with social violence, particularly race riots, in America
University Photography collection: over 100,000 images documenting the history of the university
University Alumni: items donated from Brandeis alumni, covering a range of topics and events in a variety of formats