Research Guides: HIST 109B: A Global History of Sport: Politics, Economy, Race and Culture: Home

Home
- Journal Articles and Books
- Primary Sources
Cite Your Sources

Librarian for History

she/her/hers

Contact:

lhibbler@brandeis.edu

781-736-4656

Subjects: African and African American Studies, Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, History, Rabb GPS

Journal Articles and Books

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool.
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and other scholarship in the field of history (excluding the history of the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of articles on the history and culture of the parts of North America that make up the present-day US and Canada.

Explore specific academic journals that might be relevant to your research:

Primary Sources

Newspapers and Magazines

Review the descriptions and information about dates of coverage before considering which newspapers might be most useful for your research. For example, if researching topics related to race in America, you'll want to be sure to search collections such as ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers and Ethnic NewsWatch. You might want to explore newspapers from other parts of the world if you are researching an athlete from another country. For Cold War-related topics, you might want to search in Current Digest of the Soviet Press.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes many US-based newspapers covering much of the 20th century.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2021
Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times with every page of every issue from 1785 through 1986 (part 1) and through 2012 (part 2).
Current Digest of the Russian Press Archive This link opens in a new window
Presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English for use in research and teaching. The database is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public from 1949-1991 and 2010-2021.
Post-Perestroika Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Russian- and English-language newspapers that were established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union. Provides significant documentation of and perspective into the historical and political landscape that defined post-Soviet Russia. Coverage: 1990 to 2016
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
This weekly serial publication launched early in 2012 (after a pilot issue in August 2011) provides English translations of timely articles selected from domestic Chinese news publications. The digital archive contains issues dating from 2011 to 2022.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival runs of some of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Note: Some publications may contain explicit content.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.

Global Press Archive
Includes archives of newspapers from all over the world

Images and Video

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.

British Pathé Newsreels on India
Newsreels on events in India, from a British perspective, for British moviegoing audiences. Covers 1920's-1960's.

Oral Histories

HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An African American video oral history archive. Provides access to oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans.

Government Documents

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions post WWII.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2024, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.

More Digitized Collections

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Find a wide range of materials, such as: oral histories from the African Women's Life History Project; declassified FBI files detailing surveillance of gays and lesbians in the U.S. from 1950 to 1982; and erotica from the "Private Case" of the British Museum Library.
Our access includes: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I and II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and Community and Identity in North America.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
Includes records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle, as well as federal government records. Includes the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
This database includes "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century" and "NAACP Papers."