GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Meridians is a feminist, interdisciplinary journal whose goal is to provide a forum for the finest scholarship and creative work by and about women of color in U.S. and international contexts.
A leading journal in women's & gender studies, Signs publishes articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality.
TSQ aims to publish interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship.
An ongoing project to build a collection of oral history interviews that will be housed at Temple University's Urban Archives. Selected transcriptions available online.
Includes oral histories collected for the AIDS/Brooklyn exhibition, undertaken by the Brooklyn Historical Society in the early 1990s. The project attempted to document the impact of the AIDS epidemic on Brooklyn communities.
Histories of scientists, nurses, and community doctors who played key roles during the early years of the epidemic. Follow the links through to the Online Archive of California to see the transcripts.
From the Office of National Institutes of Health (NIH) History, a collection of oral history transcripts that give insight into how government scientists, physicians, nurses, and administrators responded to the challenge of this new and deadly disease.
A community archive devoted to the collection, preservation and sharing of trans histories, organized in collaboration with the New York Public Library. Audio recordings and transcriptions.
The Center for Oral History at the Science History Institute develops and curates a growing collection of comprehensive, professionally conducted oral history interviews. Search for the keywords "HIV" or "AIDS" to turn up relevant interviews.
Oral histories covering a broad range of topics, people and institutions from throughout the medical and health sciences, 1960s to present. Search for the keywords "HIV" or "AIDS" to turn up relevant interviews.
Oral history interviews with key witnesses to the AIDS epidemic and its impact on the visual art community, primarily in New York City. A project of the Archives of American Art, with support from the Keith Haring Foundation.
Digitized materials from the ACT UP New York records, which are housed at the New York Public Library (NYPL). Not all materials in this collection have been digitized; see the finding aid for more information.
Collection of historical records, newspapers, government publications, and reports covering personal experiences, policies, activism, LGBTQ rights, health, and the worldwide impact of HIV/AIDS. Documents span from 1940 to 2014. Includes materials from the ACT UP New York Records, which are held by NYPL.
Our access includes: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I and II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and Community and Identity in North America.
Explores the gay rights movement in America, including civil rights and law passage in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Find legal and policy research on topics such as marriage and family, employment, military service, and health care.
Archival runs of some of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Note: Some publications may contain explicit content.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
A collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture, curated by academic editors Marc Stein and Lisa Arellano. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, embracing LGBT topics as well as other sexual and gender formations that are queer. Particular focus is given to perspectives from people of color, trans people and people with disabilities.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
The Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) seeks to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Includes holdings from the ONE Archives, University of Victoria's Transgender Archives, Country Queer Oral History Project, etc.
World's largest collection about lesbians and their communities. Site includes digitized photos, oral histories, audio recordings, newsletters, and video. Recent digitization efforts include Audre Lorde's speeches, panel presentations, and readings.
The largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives houses millions of archival items including periodicals, books, films, videos, audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. ONE Archives has been a part of the University of Southern California Libraries since 2010.
Collection of alternative press publications produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2024, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
Finding Archives (Digital and Physical)
In addition to searching the web for community archives, try some search engines designed specifically to help you find materials housed in institutional archives.
ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies in the U.S., Australia, and Canada.
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966.
