Research Guides: FYS 6b American Political Violence from the Founding to the Present : Where to Find Sources

Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , Health Policy, Health: Science, Society & Policy (HSSP), Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy, Rabb GPS

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The CRS, a division of the Library of Congress, provides policy and legal analysis to representatives and senators in Congress. CRS reports are renown for authoritative, objective, and non-partisan research but are not directly released to the public. CRS reports are available in several online collections including:

University of North Texas CRSR Collection
UNT digital collection of CRS Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.
Federation of American Scientists
FAS was founded in 1945 by many of the Manhattan Project scientists who wanted to prevent nuclear war. Updated monthly.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Analytical, nonpartisan reports on major policy issues, prepared for members and committees of the United States Congress. This search interface will have CRS reports published from September 2018 onward, with an ongoing effort to fill in the back file.

more... less...

More information on the public release of CRS Reports.

General Search

Need help narrowing down your topic? Try searching a general database with keywords to help you focus your research. Once you've collected a few key terms, try searchihng a more politics-specific database. UNet login required.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
A comprehensive database of articles on the history and culture of the parts of North America that make up the present-day US and Canada.
Google Scholar
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Access link next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
NAACP Papers

See Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Political Science Database (ProQuest)
Indexes 140 leading political science and international relations journals, sometimes with full text and images. Includes comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics, 1985-present.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974
Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, newspapers, press, underground press, alternative publications, and scholarly commentary. This collection includes materials digitized from collections in Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections, including materials on student activism and radical politics.
Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000)
A collection of document projects--comprised of essays with supporting documents, images, and web links--focused on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000
OneSearch
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool.

Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.

News

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1998), Boston Globe (1872-1993), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2020), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2011), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and Washington Post (1877-2007)
Boston Globe (1980-Present)
Full-text coverage of the Boston Globe, 1980 to present.
New York Times Digital Edition

Free access to The New York Times website. The Library's academic site license include access through mobile apps. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your academic account.
Wall Street Journal
Free access to The Wall Street Journal website. Brandeis University students, faculty, and staff can access The Wall Street Journal through our University-wide academic site license. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your academic account.

Magazines & Periodicals

Some of our magazine subscriptions appear as lists of articles in a database, while some are hosted by the publication's website. You can search by article title or author, or browse by issue or date range. Please note: Due to copyright restrictions, the publisher may not make all content available.

If you have a particular article you are unable to find, please reach out to your librarian for additional guidance. We're here to help!

The Atlantic (1995-Present)
The Economist (1988 - Present)
International news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them. 1988 - Present available online. 1992 - Present through ProQuest ABI/Inform linked here. Back issues available in print or on microfiche.
The Nation (1975-Present)
National Geographic (1888 - Present)
Coverage includes 1888 to present. With images.
The New Yorker (Coverage Varies - Present)
Features, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
Time (1923 - Present)
Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science and entertainment news.