Research Guides: LGLS 140B Investigating Justice: Scholarly Research

Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

Legal Encyclopedia: AmJur

American Jurisprudence, or AmJur, is another, easy to use legal encyclopedia which indexes relevant case law by subject.

American Jurisprudence (online through Lexis Nexis)
You may need to login with your UNet ID and password.

Legal Dictionaries

Since the language of law is peppered with Latin phrases and industry-specific terms, having a legal dictionary handy is a good idea to help you navigate. Widely used dictionaries include:

Black's Law Dictionary (Print) - Brandeis OneSearch
Reference KF156 .B53. Located on Farber 1 and is for use only in the library. Note: There is a free online version of the 2nd edition but it is 20 years old and likely out of date.
Wex, from Cornell University
Online dictionary.

General Searching

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.

Brandeis Library OneSearch
Search the library catalog for books, videos, documents, and more.

Law Journals

Law journals and law reviews are collections of articles written by law scholars, lawyers, and students on a specific topic. Not only do they provide analysis of issues, but the citation list and referenced works may provide you with additional direction as you research. It's important to note, however, that many law review articles are written and edited by law students who may lack first-hand experience that practicing law brings.

Law Reviews and Journals (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Search through articles appearing in hundreds of law reviews. UNet login and password required.
Law Journal Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Collection of articles published in law reviews and other legal periodicals.

Journal Literature

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent coverage of international business and economics topics from journals, magazines, reports, and data sources.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, scientific, technical, and policy information across the agricultural and environmental sciences. Includes topics such as animal sciences, climate change, conservation, environmental law and policy, natural resources, public health, renewable energy, and sustainable development. Includes the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two key databases for anthropology: the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature. Broad coverage from early 19th century to present.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and indexing in thousands of journals in business, international business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and more. Please note that Brandeis access to this resource will end on December 31, 2024. More information.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that provides access to scholarly journals, curriculum and teaching guides, research reports, and other materials related to the field of education.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public policy papers and grey literature from over 120 countries, 1915-present.
Policy File Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. Updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search journals of social work, social welfare, social policy and community development, 1979 to present.