Research Guides: POL 163A The United Nations and the United States: Popular Sources (News &amp; Magazines)

Magazines

Some of our magazine subscriptions appear as lists of articles in a database, while some are hosted by the publication's website. You can search by article title or author, or browse by issue or date range. Please note: Due to copyright restrictions, the publisher may not make all content available.

If you have a particular article you are unable to find, please reach out to your librarian for additional guidance. We're here to help!

Foreign Affairs (1922 - Present)
Covers international relations and U.S. foreign policy
The Nation (1865-Present)
National Geographic (1888 - Present)
Coverage includes 1888 to present. With images.
New Republic (1914-Present)
Time (1923 - Present)
Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science and entertainment news.
The New Yorker (Coverage Varies - Present)
Features, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.

Current Newspapers

We use library databases to access newspapers instead of going directly to the newspaper's website (except the WSJ and the NYT). These databases allow you to search multiple news sources simultaneously, provide better search results, stable links, and access to archived content.

Reading Today's Paper

Boston Globe
This link defaults to the latest available issue (today's). You can then scroll down the list for stories, or search within the issue for a specific topic.
Los Angeles Times
LA Times December 1996 - Present
New York Times
Brandeis students, staff, and faculty have free access to the New York Times via web and mobile app. Click this link and follow the instructions to sign up.
Wall Street Journal
Brandeis students, staff, and faculty have free access to the Wall Street Journal via web and mobile app. Click this link and follow the instructions to sign up.
Washington Post
This link defaults to the latest available issue (today's). You can then scroll down the list for stories, or search within the issue for a specific topic.

Search Multiple Publications

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.

International News

Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage for over 400 Canadian news sources, 1970s to present.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and regional news from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese, such as El Universal (México); O Globo (Brasil); La Nación (Argentina); y El Mercurio (Chile).

Archived News Sources

Databases that provide access to major newspapers' archives from the 20th century. You will find archived newspapers from the 19th century and earlier in the News & Media section of our Databases A - Z list.

Boston Globe Historical Archive
Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1988)
Chicago Tribune
Coverage: 1849 - 1996
Los Angeles Times
Coverage: 1881 - 1995
The New York Times
Coverage: 1851 - 2014
Wall Street Journal
Coverage: 1889 - 2002
Washington Post
Coverage: 1877 - 2002

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Includes the following English-language Chinese historical newspapers: North China Herald (1850-1941); Canton Times (1919-1920); China Critic (1939-1946); The China Press (1925-1938); China Weekly Review (1917-1953); Chinese Recorder (1868-1940); Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Peking Daily News (1914-1917); Peking Gazette (1915-1917); Peking Leader (1918-1919); Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921); Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1996), Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2018), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and Washington Post (1877-2006)