Skip to main content

*World History: Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University)

Materials can be searched and requested from anywhere, but can only be viewed on the designated computer in Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections.

How to find and request Fortunoff materials:

  1. Search for testimonies in Orbis (http://orbis.library.yale.edu/vwebv/), Yale’s library catalog. (Tip: enter hvt in the search box. This stands for Holocaust Video Testimony, and limits the search to Fortunoff materials only. Next, enter a search term. For help with searching Orbis, see the Orbis search tips page.)

  1. Once you locate testimonies in Orbis, click Request for Use in Manuscripts and Archives next to Location under the Yale Holdings section. This will take you to the page to login to your Yale Special Collections Account.

 

First-time users: You will need to create an account for Yale University Library's Special Collections before requesting and viewing testimonies.

Once you have created your account, login to your account and complete the online form to request the testimony. You will receive an automated email confirmation for your request. You will then receive a second email approving your request. Approval can take up to three business days.

  1. Once your request is approved, please visit Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections where you may view the video at the dedicated computer by clicking the link from the approval email.

If you have any questions, please contact Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections at ascdepartment@brandeis.edu or 781-736-4686. Hours and directions.