*World History

A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1930.

A collection of databases containing primary newspaper records, including Godey's Ladys Book 1830-1880, The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800, "The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective," and "African American Newspapers: The 19th Century."

Collection of historical records, newspapers, government publications, and reports covering personal experiences, policies, activism, LGBTQ rights, health, and the worldwide impact of HIV/AIDS. Documents span from 1940 to 2014.

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. Includes many documents related to the Holocaust. Collections include:
-The Middle East Online: Arab Israeli Relations 1917-1970 Digital Archive
-Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
-Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
-Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
-German Anti-Semitic Propaganda
-Holocaust and Records of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
-Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
-Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
-Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949
-Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank
-Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of Jewish German Nationality
-SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in
Neutral Countries
-Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886

Approximately 100,000 searchable and indexed pages of women's letters and diaries from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. (1558-1700)

Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. A wide array of different types of periodical are represented, from magisterial quarterlies and scholarly and professional organs through to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines.

Digital manuscripts of two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval in China. Images include color paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as photographs, sketches and ephemeral items, depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events, history or art relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Scholarly essays, collections, and interactive and zoomable maps. Topics include Chinese Maritime Customs, Amherst and Macartney embassies, Opium War, Boxer War, to People’s Republic of China.

Includes full-text and full-image issues of the following English-language Chinese historical newspapers:
North China Herald (1850-1941)
Canton Times (1919-1920)
China Critic (1939-1946)
The China Press (1925-1938)
China Weekly Review (1917-1953)
Chinese Recorder (1868-1940)
Chinese Repository (1832-1851)
Peking Daily News (1914-1917)
Peking Gazette (1915-1917)
Peking Leader (1918-1919
Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921)
Shanghai Times (1914-1921)

Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.

This weekly serial publication launched early in 2012 (after a pilot issue in August 2011) provides English translations of timely articles selected from domestic Chinese news publications. The digital archive contains issues dating from 2011 to 2022.

Presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English for use in research and teaching. The database is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public from 1949-1991 and 2010-2021.

Presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English for use in research and teaching. The database is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public from 1949-1991.

Contains digitized images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Collection of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the UK, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, during the 18th century. Includes of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.

Collection of rare journals printed between 1693 and 1799, offering users a wide-ranging view of eighteenth century publishing culture.
Topics covered include law and policing; British colonial possessions; the South Sea Bubble, religion, female dress and the American and French revolutions; politics, marriage, and morality.

Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It includes sources about the history of European exploration, portrayals of Native American peoples, natural disasters, disease outbreaks and slavery.

Includes German-language books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.

Provides unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel. Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets. Many concentration (and later extermination) camps and sub-camps are represented in this collection, including Mauthausen, Dachau, Belsen-Bergen, Buchenwald, Treblinka, Sobibor, sub-camp Gros-Raming, sub-camp Gusen I, sub-camp Ebensee, and others.

Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide in the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection takes a case study approach, providing primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects.

The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the issue of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.

Covers the "complete archive" of Izvestiia (Известия), from its founding in 1917 through present. 

Includes documents from a wide variety of sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities. These records are organized into various sub-collections, i.e., Archiv Schumacher, Streicher, Hans Frank, Hauptarchiv der NSDAP, Geschaedigte Juden, etc., and Ordner, or folders, and include newspaper clippings, letters, manuscripts, pamphlets, reports and other documents originating with the Sturmabteilung (SA), Schutzstaffel (SS), Gestapo, Reich Ministry of Justice, and Reichskulturkammer (RKK, Reich Chamber of Culture).

David Diamant is the pseudonym of David Erlich, a Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance during World War II. This collection consists of original documents collected by Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. The pamphlets in the collection offer researchers a rich corpus of primary sources on the socioeconomic and political landscape of 19th Century Britain. To view different pamphlet collections, click on the hyperlinked letters under "Browse by titles starting with" or go directly to Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, or the Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection.

Full text searchable archive of the satirical magazine, Krokodil, published in the Soviet Union. Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Published continuously until 2008.

Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Collection includes digitized medieval manuscripts from the letter collections of five different families. In addition to correspondence, the collection includes supporting material such as wills, deeds, and account books.

Original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-71. Contains over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Some of the topics covered include the British capture of Jerusalem, the milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948, Jewish terror groups, the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, the Border wars of the 1950s, formation of the United Arab Republic, the Cold War in the Middle East and Black September.

Digitized primary sources from the long nineteenth century. Includes four thematic collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics & Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European LIterature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.

Collection of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, and other types of sources covering issues in the public debate. Provides a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.

Contains the full-text, full-image online searchable archive of Pravda (Правда, Truth), from its inception in 1912 through 2022. Pravda was the official voice of Soviet Communism and is now the official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.

Indexes most popular periodicals published in the U.S. from 1890-1982, including The Atlantic Monthly (1890-1982), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1890-1912), Harper's (1889-1982), Scribner's Magazine (1890-1939), The Century (1890-1930).

The records reproduced in this collection consist primarily of SAFEHAVEN reports and letters, cables, and military attaché reports referring to specific SAFEHAVEN reports or related topics. Such topics include information on alleged art looting; business matters (including alleged patent transfers) pertaining to leading German industrial firms such as Bosch and I.G. Farben; and various Third Reich personalities.

Collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, including newspapers and news pamphlets published mostly in London. Contains some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

Online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-Semitic activities of the German Nazi Party. It contains documentary evidence such as eyewitness accounts; photographs of pre-war Jewish life, the activities of the Nazis, and the ghettoes and camps; and Nazi propaganda publications. 75% of the collection is in German.

Covers 1838-2006. The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.

Diaries and correspondence of 19th and 20th century American women traveling in the United States and around the world.

Provides access to digitized correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.

Includes a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, and shows how interconnected these worlds were. This resource is divided into three sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment and contains material from a variety of world-renowned archives.